Thread: Aperture 3 - Mac Users what are your users' experience

Default Aperture 3 - Mac Users what are your users' experience

I was a Capture 4.0, Adobe Photoshop CS 3 user for the last 4 years. However, my most sophisticated needs are only contrasts, saturation, curves, burn and dodge and sharpening. All of these were done on PC.

I have now just gotten a Mac for exactly 1 week now, after my PC died. My Leica Capture LE that I got for my M8 in Jan 2009 will not load in my Mac, even after the Mac version has been detected. It just terminates. I have been using Capture as my RAW converter since 2009 and post-processing in Adobe CS 3 that I even invested in a Gary Fong plugin for my wedding shoots (I have now stopped after 15 assignments and having paid off my gear).

I need to know:
    1. If Aperture 3.0 would fit my needs for RAW conversion and Adobe CS 3's functions that I use. Anyway, I will need to buy again and assumes I will not go PC again.

2. If the learning curve is very steep for the switch. PC -> Mac was still ok buy still learning.

Thank you.

Ang Mo Kio

Default Re: Aperture 3 - Mac Users what are your users' experience

Hi TS,
    regarding your first question, somethings need to be set straight. Aperture3.0 (like Lightroom 3) does not convert RAW. It does non-destructive editing. Your RAW files are kept untouched. What Aperture does is to apply a set of rules base on your adjustments, and show you what it would look like. When you need to output the image, Aperture will then apply all your settings to the RAW file and give you the output you want (jpeg, tif, whatever).
    Having said that, RAW conversion in CS3 should be all covered by Aperture3. Bearing in mind CS3's ACR does not have lens profile correction yet. The only item missing is probably the graduated filter. But i find this can be easily done by Aperture's quick brush, so I dont miss it.