Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 38 of 38

Thread: IE 9 not for XP users

  1. #21
    Member 9V-Orion Images's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Autenticate ALGRN @ 7987.8270
    Posts
    1,760

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by Etna-sama View Post
    Too bad then, you don't know what you are missing with IE9.

    Hardware-accelerated WebGL in IE9 completely trashes Mozilla's Firefox in performance alone. and we are looking at speeds like 10x faster.
    Wow! "10x faster". I'm sure the hardware-accelerated IE9 will come into handy when people start streaming 1080p porno in 3D.
    Last edited by 9V-Orion Images; 17th March 2011 at 06:53 PM.
    CS Aviation / Flickr
    Per aspera ad astra

  2. #22

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by 9V-Orion Images View Post
    Wow! "10x faster". I'm sure the hardware-accelerated IE9 will come into handy when people start streaming 1080p porno in 3D.
    3D hahaha lol maybe we'd expect virtual images with future IE versions lol
    canon fan boy ;D

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Singapore/Central
    Posts
    423

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by ninelives View Post
    my company intranet must use IE. i use it to submit claim, clock omeaga, sharepoint and etc..

    other than that, 90% of the time i am using Firefox.
    clock omega... this term is very familiar to me as well. haha.


  4. #24
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by ricohflex View Post
    Anyone here tried Iron (a modified Chrome) or Maxthon 3 ?

    Tried Maxthon 3 for a few days… but when back to Maxthon 2.5.x … can't explain, but I just prefer Maxthon 2.x.x over 3. Which ever… its better than IE.

    Just updated my PC yesterday from Core 2 Duo to i5 2500… using Win7 64bit now, can confirm that Maxthon 2.5.x still works well on a 64bit system.
    Last edited by diver-hloc; 18th March 2011 at 01:52 PM.

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    sing
    Posts
    3,353

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by diver-hloc View Post

    Just updated my PC yesterday from Core 2 Duo to i5 2500… using Win7 64bit now, can confirm that Maxthon 2.5.x still works well on a 64bit system.
    Recently upgraded hardware too. i5 Sandy Bridge, new Gigabyte mother board + 8 GB (I know XP cannot access full - but in case future change to 64 bit Win 7 OS) + additional 2 TB hard disk.
    But choose to stay with XP and 32 bit as have many XP software that may or may not run with 64 bit Win 7.
    Put the IE8 to one side and use mainly FireFox 4 now. Though in beta, it is pretty good.
    Last edited by ricohflex; 18th March 2011 at 11:41 PM.

  6. #26
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by ricohflex View Post
    Recently upgraded hardware too. i5 Sandy Bridge, new Gigabyte mother board + 8 GB (I know XP cannot access full - but in case future change to 64 bit Win 7 OS) + additional 2 TB hard disk.
    But choose to stay with XP and 32 bit as have many XP software that may or may not run with 64 bit Win 7.
    Put the IE8 to one side and use mainly FireFox 4 now. Though in beta, it is pretty good.

    Yup... my display calibreber isn't work like it used too.... can't turn on its Room Light Compensation software... and they don't have a 64bit version of the driver. Luckily for most of my other USB devices, there are Win7 64bits drivers in the Internet... just have to search and find them.


    Btw... I'm still using a older version of an ATX 650watt PSU that have only a single 4pin 12volt plug from the i5 2500 CPU. Does this affect the performance of the CPU since the Asus motherboard supports the 8pin (or 2x 4pin) 12volt plug ??? I can't seems to get a confirm answer anywhere.... anyone knows ??

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    sing
    Posts
    3,353

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Your 650 Watt power supply looks like powerful enough.
    Does the 8 pin plug mean that more current can be fed into the motherboard instead of the 4 pin?
    Maybe the motherboard manufacturer can answer this.
    If not try Tek-Tips.
    See if this helps.
    http://www.computerhope.com/help/ps.htm

  8. #28
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by ricohflex View Post
    Your 650 Watt power supply looks like powerful enough.
    Does the 8 pin plug mean that more current can be fed into the motherboard instead of the 4 pin?
    Maybe the motherboard manufacturer can answer this.
    If not try Tek-Tips.
    See if this helps.
    http://www.computerhope.com/help/ps.htm

    'I' core series of CPU is suppose to neeed more power than the old model CPU. 2x 4pin 12volt plug is suppose to be able to give the CPU more power wheen the CPU needs it. While 650Watt is enough for my 4x SATA HDD + 1x DvD.... When using software that require lots of CPU computing power.... would the Chip now be unable to perform, due to lack of power from only 1 single 4pin 12volt plug.....

    Buying a new PSU would of cause solve the problem.... but at $109 for a CoolerMaster 650W PSU... I would rather upgrade my graphic card to ATI 5770 series cards... or Nivida 550 series once they come out into the market.

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  9. #29

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by diver-hloc View Post

    Btw... I'm still using a older version of an ATX 650watt PSU that have only a single 4pin 12volt plug from the i5 2500 CPU. Does this affect the performance of the CPU since the Asus motherboard supports the 8pin (or 2x 4pin) 12volt plug ??? I can't seems to get a confirm answer anywhere.... anyone knows ??
    PSU will not affect performance, either it can supply the power or not. if not enough power, you might not able to power up or might have lot of crashing.or your device will not work for example DVD drive not running, HDD not running and etc...

    Quote Originally Posted by diver-hloc View Post
    'I' core series of CPU is suppose to neeed more power than the old model CPU. 2x 4pin 12volt plug is suppose to be able to give the CPU more power wheen the CPU needs it. While 650Watt is enough for my 4x SATA HDD + 1x DvD.... When using software that require lots of CPU computing power.... would the Chip now be unable to perform, due to lack of power from only 1 single 4pin 12volt plug.....

    Buying a new PSU would of cause solve the problem.... but at $109 for a CoolerMaster 650W PSU... I would rather upgrade my graphic card to ATI 5770 series cards... or Nivida 550 series once they come out into the market.
    my GTX 460 VGA itself also need 2x4pin(old card only need 1x4 pin). i didn't even know until i open the package, luckily my Antec PSU got sufficient 1x4 pin. if your mother board also need and other 2x4 pin then your psu must have total 4x4 pin.

    if you have further question, you can check with hardwarezone, lot of experts there.
    Last edited by ninelives; 19th March 2011 at 04:08 PM.
    Objection !!!

  10. #30
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by ninelives View Post
    my GTX 460 VGA itself also need 2x4pin(old card only need 1x4 pin). i didn't even know until i open the package, luckily my Antec PSU got sufficient 1x4 pin. if your mother board also need and other 2x4 pin then your psu must have total 4x4 pin.

    if you have further question, you can check with hardwarezone, lot of experts there.

    I very seldom post anything at hardwarezone…

    But die lah… my current graphic card (Nivida 9600 GT) use a single 6pin plug (the PSU have 2 of this)… if new cards uses 8pin plug like you said… then I can't upgrade my graphic card without upgrading my PSU at the same time…

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,197

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    I am still on XP SP3 and IE7. Am I missing anything from Win7 and IE9?

  12. #32
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by ManWearPants View Post
    I am still on XP SP3 and IE7. Am I missing anything from Win7 and IE9?

    Not really… but inorder for your OS to make full use of a new Intel/AMD chipset to the max… you'll need a 64bit system... be it WinXP or Win7.

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  13. #33

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by diver-hloc View Post
    I very seldom post anything at hardwarezone…

    But die lah… my current graphic card (Nivida 9600 GT) use a single 6pin plug (the PSU have 2 of this)… if new cards uses 8pin plug like you said… then I can't upgrade my graphic card without upgrading my PSU at the same time…
    hey you know what, you are right, i just double checked and my GTX 460 is using 2x6 pin PCI-E connectors.
    motherboard is using 1x 24pin,1x4pin(12v) .. so you might no need to upgrade your psu.maybe you can download the blueprint for the motherboard website.

    dunno and sandy bridge requirement, anyone using it right now? i also need to upgrade soon. need to run 3 x windows 2008 R2 virtual machines. my current system cannot make it.
    Last edited by ninelives; 19th March 2011 at 07:24 PM.
    Objection !!!

  14. #34
    Senior Member bonrya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a mobile cage
    Posts
    2,632

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae
    The only thing I use IE for is to download Firefox.
    *nods* haven't used IE since Firefox was released.
    My Flickr
    ~Neko baka

  15. #35
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by ninelives View Post
    hey you know what, you are right, i just double checked and my GTX 460 is using 2x6 pin PCI-E connectors.
    motherboard is using 1x 24pin,1x4pin(12v) .. so you might no need to upgrade your psu.maybe you can download the blueprint for the motherboard website.

    dunno and sandy bridge requirement, anyone using it right now? i also need to upgrade soon. need to run 3 x windows 2008 R2 virtual machines. my current system cannot make it.

    I'm not 'fully' right… just check CoolerMaster's website… the latest ATX PSU (ver 2.3) have 2x 4pin 12volt plug (for CPU)… and 2x 6pin+2pin (can use for graphic card that need 6 or 8 pin plug) for new range of graphic card.

    Moral of the story… make sure I get a card that only need a 6pin plug…

    Btw… am currently using Sandy Bridge intel i5 quad core 2500 CPU on 1155 B3 chipset MB. Like I've said earlier… the CPU need 2x 4pin (8pin total) 12volt plug for the MB. But with a single 4pin plug, it'll still work... but might have a problem if your CPU need more power.
    Last edited by diver-hloc; 19th March 2011 at 07:48 PM.

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  16. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,197

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    So if I am still on 32 bit processor, then no need to upgrade OS and IE right?

  17. #37
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Quote Originally Posted by ManWearPants View Post
    So if I am still on 32 bit processor, then no need to upgrade OS and IE right?

    Something like that…

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  18. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    sing
    Posts
    3,353

    Default Re: IE 9 not for XP users

    Firefox 4 stable version has been released since 22 March 2011.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •