Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Recommend settings for night shots

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Bishan
    Posts
    307

    Default Recommend settings for night shots

    What camera settings (like aperture size, exposure time) do u all use when u take a night shot of a city skyline? Any way to gauge? And how to achieve the star effect from the lights? Do u use the built in flash of ur SLR?

  2. #2
    Member Jer76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    West
    Posts
    1,047

    Default Re: Recommend settings for night shots

    Originally posted by currahee
    What camera settings (like aperture size, exposure time) do u all use when u take a night shot of a city skyline? Any way to gauge? And how to achieve the star effect from the lights? Do u use the built in flash of ur SLR?
    erm usually we dun use flash for a nite shot of a city skyline.. to compensate for that usually a long shutter speed is used based on the exposure u want... for the star effect you need a "star" filter they have it in camera shops.. hope this helps : )

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Bishan
    Posts
    307

    Default

    What are the usual aperture n exposure settings used?
    Is it better to use a big aperture or smaller aperture for better results?

  4. #4

    Default

    Originally posted by currahee
    What are the usual aperture n exposure settings used?
    Is it better to use a big aperture or smaller aperture for better results?
    Exposure will depend on your camera meter's recommendations.

    Usual aperture for me will be f/8 to f/16 for deeper depth of field. A smaller aperture will be better for the above reason.

    Why don't you go out and try some of the techniques discussed here? I realised that you have ask quite a few questions in the forum. Nothing will beat practice and more practice. Talk does not count. But of course you can clear your doubts here.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Bishan
    Posts
    307

    Default

    i usu take using f5.6, then ard 3s exposure....think still acceptable....so tot of asking ard wat settings u all use

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Taipei, Taiwan/ Los Angeles, California. U.S.A.
    Posts
    422

    Default Re: Re: Recommend settings for night shots

    Originally posted by Jer76


    erm usually we dun use flash for a nite shot of a city skyline.. to compensate for that usually a long shutter speed is used based on the exposure u want... for the star effect you need a "star" filter they have it in camera shops.. hope this helps : )
    Not true. You can get a star effect by stopping down all the way (f16+). Basically, do this:

    1) Set your camera on a tripod (*duh*)
    2) Get a meter reading at your widest aperture
    3) Interpret your actual exposure (ie. your reading is 1/4@f5.6, then you can shoot at 1/2@f8, 1"@f16, etc...)
    4) Shoot at this exposure.
    5) Shoot another shot at 1 full stop over (ie. 4" instead of 2") and 2 full stops over. This is to try and guess a compensation for reprocicity failure (RF). RF is the the umpredictability of color film emultions over 1". After 1 second the red, green, and blue layers may not (will not) expose evenly. You can check the Internet for actual exposure compensation amounts. I have a RF compensation chart on my website for Velvia.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Taipei, Taiwan/ Los Angeles, California. U.S.A.
    Posts
    422

    Default

    Originally posted by currahee
    What are the usual aperture n exposure settings used?
    Is it better to use a big aperture or smaller aperture for better results?
    Big aperture = street lights as blobs, faster exposure
    Small aperture = street lights as 4-point stars, slow exposure, and the possibility of flare if you are too close to a bright light source

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Bishan
    Posts
    307

    Default

    thanx for the valuable info....

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,741

    Default

    What ISO settings do you usually use? I tried 400 but noise becomes more obvious...

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Taipei, Taiwan/ Los Angeles, California. U.S.A.
    Posts
    422

    Default

    Originally posted by imaginary_number
    What ISO settings do you usually use? I tried 400 but noise becomes more obvious...
    I use film for long-exposures of citiscapes...detail is too key to lose it using digital...so, I can't "set" the ISO. Anyway, I usually shoot with Provia 100F because it has the best RF properites of any film: up to 16 seconds with no exposure adjustment needed. I still bracket, though...1/2 and 1 stop overexposure.

  11. #11

    Default

    Originally posted by imaginary_number
    What ISO settings do you usually use? I tried 400 but noise becomes more obvious...
    use the lowest iso level and compensate with a longer shutter speed

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by currahee
    What are the usual aperture n exposure settings used?
    Is it better to use a big aperture or smaller aperture for better results?
    For our skyline, ISO100, 10s at f/8 is about there. Then bracket from there.

    Regards
    CK

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,741

    Default

    Ok, thanx guys for the fast reply. I think the shutter speed for my dc is 3s max, seems kinda limited huh?


    hmm... I shall try ISO 160/200 at 3s the next time.

  14. #14

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang


    For our skyline, ISO100, 10s at f/8 is about there. Then bracket from there.

    Regards
    CK
    any reason to use a smaller apeture?

  15. #15

    Default

    Originally posted by imaginary_number
    Ok, thanx guys for the fast reply. I think the shutter speed for my dc is 3s max, seems kinda limited huh?


    hmm... I shall try ISO 160/200 at 3s the next time.
    i tink it will still be dark...but also must see the lighting how bright is it

  16. #16

    Default

    Originally posted by MaGixShOe
    any reason to use a smaller apeture?
    so that all the buildings will surely be in focus......... due to depth of field

  17. #17

    Default

    i notice that if i use a larger apeture like f-2.8 i only need about 2 secs to get the light coming thru
    if i use f-8.0 i need about 10 secs or above to get the photo brght enough
    but most of the time i set it to about 4-5 f stop

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •