Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Possible to use D3100 to take pictures in bulb mode using PC?

  1. #1

    Default Possible to use D3100 to take pictures in bulb mode using PC?

    Hi CSers, I am wondering if anyone know if this works?

    I currently owns a D3100, and I want to use bulb mode shooting but I don't want to use my watch to time the exposure time, as it is inconsistent.

    Is it possible to use laptop to take the shot and time the exposure time?

    Thanks
    D7100 Tamron 24-70 f/2.8, 150-600 Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 ver 2
    Nikkor 35 f/1.8, 70-200 f/2.8

  2. #2
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Possible to use D3100 to take pictures in bulb mode using PC?

    Quote Originally Posted by kensou View Post
    Hi CSers, I am wondering if anyone know if this works?

    I currently owns a D3100, and I want to use bulb mode shooting but I don't want to use my watch to time the exposure time, as it is inconsistent.

    Is it possible to use laptop to take the shot and time the exposure time?

    Thanks
    Please, a watch is fine. When you are doing anything beyond 30 seconds, 1 or 2 seconds out of the 60, 120, 180 seconds is really not going to affect the exposure.

    I'm not in tune with Nikon cameras, but if the D3100 can use shutter release, you can look for the timer version lor.

    Otherwise, I think it'd be silly to carry a laptop around just to shoot long exposures.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Possible to use D3100 to take pictures in bulb mode using PC?

    yea I agree.. but doing it for 60-70 times continuously is gonna affect abit on me. As I am moving into Astrophotography fields so it doesnt matter my setup is heavy or not. Just want to work with what I have instead of getting a timer remote..
    D7100 Tamron 24-70 f/2.8, 150-600 Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 ver 2
    Nikkor 35 f/1.8, 70-200 f/2.8

  4. #4
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Possible to use D3100 to take pictures in bulb mode using PC?

    Quote Originally Posted by kensou View Post
    yea I agree.. but doing it for 60-70 times continuously is gonna affect abit on me. As I am moving into Astrophotography fields so it doesnt matter my setup is heavy or not. Just want to work with what I have instead of getting a timer remote..
    I tried to do a search if PC tethering (that's what it's called) offers a solution for the lower end models for Nikon.

    Best I could come up with was the D50 tethered to Apple Aperture:

    http://www.planetholt.com/2009/04/04...on-d50-mac/242

    Allows you to do 30 second exposures only though. Are you planning to stack? If so, then I guess it should be ok.

  5. #5
    Senior Member edutilos-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    5,991

    Default Re: Possible to use D3100 to take pictures in bulb mode using PC?


  6. #6

    Default Re: Possible to use D3100 to take pictures in bulb mode using PC?

    thanks edutilos-, I will go take a look and read up
    D7100 Tamron 24-70 f/2.8, 150-600 Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 ver 2
    Nikkor 35 f/1.8, 70-200 f/2.8

  7. #7
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Possible to use D3100 to take pictures in bulb mode using PC?

    Quote Originally Posted by kensou View Post
    Hi CSers, I am wondering if anyone know if this works?

    I currently owns a D3100, and I want to use bulb mode shooting but I don't want to use my watch to time the exposure time, as it is inconsistent.

    Is it possible to use laptop to take the shot and time the exposure time?

    Thanks
    TS, look at this timer shutter remote. You can even do interval shooting for timelapse photography.
    http://www.***********.com.sg/ecommerce/viewproducts.php?pid=133&catid=2.3

  8. #8

    Default Re: Possible to use D3100 to take pictures in bulb mode using PC?

    oh thats a nice timer remote.. maybe I can consider too thks
    D7100 Tamron 24-70 f/2.8, 150-600 Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 ver 2
    Nikkor 35 f/1.8, 70-200 f/2.8

  9. #9
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Possible to use D3100 to take pictures in bulb mode using PC?

    Quote Originally Posted by kensou View Post
    oh thats a nice timer remote.. maybe I can consider too thks
    Ya. And it is definitely lighter and more convenient than a laptop.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,786

    Default Re: Possible to use D3100 to take pictures in bulb mode using PC?

    There are other 3rd party ones that are cheaper too. Just need to search a bit in mass sales. What works for D90 will likely work for D3100, which came to me as a pleasant surprise

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •