Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Is there a Ring Adaptor that allow Nikon to use Canon Lens?

  1. #1

    Default Is there a Ring Adaptor that allow Nikon to use Canon Lens?

    I was down at Penisula Plaza last weekend looking for a Mount that will allow Nikon Body to use Canon Lens but was told that there are no such products but i remember correctly that i have come across one online... or did i make a mistake?

    Can anyone tell me is there really no such screw mount convertor that allow Nikon System to use Canon Lens?

    cheers.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    1,226

    Default

    I seem to have read some thing somewhere that it's only possible for Canon to take Nikon lenses and not the other way round.....

  3. #3
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default

    not possible for nikon body to use canon lens, canon uses 7 or 10 electrical contact points to control the lens. critical factor here lies in the fact that there is no manual apertual ring on canon lens. also the focusing distant info cant be communicated to the nikon body, but nikon flash system needs this info to cal. its light out put.

    but canon body can use a adaptor ring to mount nikon lens because nikon lens has the manual apertual ring. so the lens basically function as a manual lens. there is no problem for canon flash system when using the nikon lens (=manual lens) even for the new e-ttl2 (will revert back to e-ttl if no focus distant feed back from the lens), e-ttl does not use focus distant to cal the flash light output.

    pls note however, if using manual lens (be it nikon lens or otherwise) on canon body, the metering may be off by a few stop on some models (namely 30, 33, 5, 1, 1n) especially in spot metering mode. it may also be about 1 stop off in other metering mode. using diff apertual also affect the accuracy of the metering. i use a pratika 300mm f4 on D60 in eva meter mode. at f4 have to over expose 1 stop, at f8 it will be correct.

    so important here if you so decide to use manual lens on canon body, do test shots, record all setting so you can "understand" the lens effect on metering.

    if you are interested to know more on using manual lens on canon body, pls feel free to pm me.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  4. #4
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    509

    Default

    oeyvind pointed me to the camera quest website, which sells adapters to let you use Nikon F-mount lenses on Canon EOS bodies. The website also tells you why you cannot do the reverse (EOS lenses on Nikon bodies). The gist of it: EOS lenses are completely electronic.

    I just ordered my adapter.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    1,226

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by denniskee
    .....
    but canon body can use a adaptor ring to mount nikon lens because nikon lens has the manual apertual ring. so the lens basically function as a manual lens. there is no problem for canon flash system when using the nikon lens (=manual lens) even for the new e-ttl2 (will revert back to e-ttl if no focus distant feed back from the lens), e-ttl does not use focus distant to cal the flash light output.
    hmm, so basically Canon users also cannot use the new Nikon G lenses because it's completely electronic too and has no aperture ring, right?

  6. #6
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default

    Yes, that is correct. Inorder for any make of camera body to use other than lens that are dedicated design, one needs adaptor ring and the lens to have aperture ring.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Isn't it easier just to get a Canon body to use your canon lenses??

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    Isn't it easier just to get a Canon body to use your canon lenses??
    I agree but the problem is that i have 2 system and 2 set of various lens. I just switch to Nikon recently. So now If i need to buy any lens i'll have to either buy 2 set for each system or sell away one of my system. Still deciding.

  9. #9
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default

    manual lens is cheap compare to EF lens, got my 300 f4 really for a good price. worth if not using very frequently. dont feel the pain $$.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •