Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > World of Nature

World of Nature Images of animals taken in the wild, in captivity or of pets in your home.

Old 31st July 2004   #1
ccplim

Default SBG sunbirds on an overcast morning

The sky this morning was really overcast follow by a heavy downpour

Only managed to get these.

Pic #1

Pic #2

Pic #3
Old 31st July 2004   #2
jbma

Yo bro. much better than mine. Pretty good considering the weather this morning.
Old 31st July 2004   #3
ccplim

Originally Posted by jbma
Yo bro. much better than mine. Pretty good considering the weather this morning.
No lah bro! Still got a long way to go man. Hopefully, the pros can give some tips for improvements.

Out of the 12 that I took this morning, only these few are consider presentable

Last edited by ccplim; 31st July 2004 at 09:49 PM.
Sponsored Link
Old 31st July 2004   #4
Newguy69

Hello ccplim,

Some nice shots you got there. I have not invite SBG for donkeys of years. Can share which parts of SBG and the best time of the day to pay a visit to these birdies.

Planning to go tomorrow if weather premit. Keep up the good works .

Old 1st August 2004   #5
ccplim

Originally Posted by Newguy69
Hello ccplim,

Some nice shots you got there. I have not invite SBG for donkeys of years. Can share which parts of SBG and the best time of the day to pay a visit to these birdies.

Planning to go tomorrow if weather premit. Keep up the good works .

Thanks for the kind words bro!

You can find these birdies around the heliconia (those flowers in the pictures) walk just behind the visitor center. I prefer to go around 7.30 - 8am. They should start to turn up somewhere around that timing.

Can't really advise you on the afternoon part as I have not tried that before. But I think it should be fine if you go in the late afternoon (maybe around 4.30pm onwards).

Good luck and hope to see some of your pics soon
Old 1st August 2004   #6
Newguy69

Originally Posted by ccplim
Thanks for the kind words bro!

You can find these birdies around the heliconia (those flowers in the pictures) walk just behind the visitor center. I prefer to go around 7.30 - 8am. They should start to turn up somewhere around that timing.

Can't really advise you on the afternoon part as I have not tried that before. But I think it should be fine if you go in the late afternoon (maybe around 4.30pm onwards).

Good luck and hope to see some of your pics soon
Thanks bro,

Will go in the morning coz afternoon time kana occupied by gf.

Cheers & hava a nice weekend
Old 1st August 2004   #7
ccplim

Originally Posted by Newguy69
Thanks bro,

Will go in the morning coz afternoon time kana occupied by gf.

Cheers & hava a nice weekend
You are welcome! Have fun waiting and shooting
Old 2nd August 2004   #8
Digiman

Hi ccplim, are your photos cropped? If not, what lens (ie focal length) did you use to get such big shots of the tiny birds??
Old 2nd August 2004   #9
ccplim

Originally Posted by Digiman
Hi ccplim, are your photos cropped? If not, what lens (ie focal length) did you use to get such big shots of the tiny birds??
Hi bro, I did perform a little crop to remove some unwanted leaves, branches, etc. All of the shots were taken at my max zoom at 500mm. If you are tactical enough, you can actually get very close to these birdies. There were a few times where they were even out of my focusing range
Old 4th August 2004   #10
benny

Great pictures.

Too bad I don't have a long enough lens. Must start saving....

Cheers,
Old 4th August 2004   #11
simonsng

Originally Posted by benny
Great pictures.

Cheers,
err......... your 70-200L IS + 2x TC is long enough leh
Old 4th August 2004   #12
Garion

Originally Posted by benny
Great pictures.

Cheers,
Even with a 70-200 f2.8L, you can get almost full frame shots of these buggers. Someone even shot them almost full frame with a 105mm some time back. You did go for the sunbird shootout @SBG rite? All you need is lots of patience and practice. Can also go to MOG to give it a try, the sunbirds there are pretty accomodating.

Else, as simonsng had mentioned, you can get either a 1.4x (recommended) or 2x TC. I recommend go for 1.4x as you you only lose one stop of light (f4 max aperture), and image quality is almost the same as without the TC.
Old 4th August 2004   #13
ccplim

Originally Posted by Garion
Even with a 70-200 f2.8L, you can get almost full frame shots of these buggers. Someone even shot them almost full frame with a 105mm some time back. You did go for the sunbird shootout @SBG rite? All you need is lots of patience and practice. Can also go to MOG to give it a try, the sunbirds there are pretty accomodating.

Else, as simonsng had mentioned, you can get either a 1.4x (recommended) or 2x TC. I recommend go for 1.4x as you you only lose one stop of light (f4 max aperture), and image quality is almost the same as without the TC.
I agreed with you on your points. I actually prefer MOG as the human traffic there is not as much as SBG. Too bad my last trip to MOG only managed to find 2 sunbirds and they keep playing hide and seek with me
Old 4th August 2004   #14
erwinx

Originally Posted by Garion

agree fully, 400mm more than enough for sunbirds. I've seen plenty of good 70-200 with or without TC shots of sunbirds (plus someone with 105mm somemore) For once, you can't blame the equipment
Old 4th August 2004   #15
ccplim

Originally Posted by erwinx
agree fully, 400mm more than enough for sunbirds. I've seen plenty of good 70-200 with or without TC shots of sunbirds (plus someone with 105mm somemore) For once, you can't blame the equipment
Heeheehee........ no excuse not to shoot liao
Closed Thread