Thread: Film: Effects of manual ISO override?

Default Film: Effects of manual ISO override?

I hope I'm posting in the right forum ><

I'm new to film/photography, and recently bought a roll of Fujifilm Superia 400 to try out on the Canon EOS 300 my aunt passed down to me. While researching on the net I came across this function called manual ISO override. What would be the effects of, say, using ISO 100 or ISO 800 on this film?

Default Re: Film: Effects of manual ISO override?

Quote Originally Posted by metzalx View Post

I'm new to film/photography, and recently bought a roll of Fujifilm Superia 400 to try out on the Canon EOS 300 my aunt passed down to me. While researching on the net I came across this function called manual ISO override. What would be the effects of, say, using ISO 100 or ISO 800 on this film?
    you can do so by setting the ISO manual, not setting on DX code on the film speed, and you need to accomplish this by alternating film processing timing, a simply explanation is you rate Fujifilm Superia 400 at ISO 800, you underexposed the film by one stop, so you length the film develop timing, it is call push processing, and if you rate the film at ISO 200, you will cut short the film develop timing and it is call pull processing.

however, you need take note that once you change your ISO, it has to apply same ISO setting to the entire roll, as the whole roll of film will receive the same developing timing. and it also have some trade off of the quality.

Btw, not all labs offer such service and the developing charge is higher than processing it normally, so buying the film with the right speed is more economy.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

In general, when you push process, you lost quality, but different film has different characteristics and some films are created with a high tolerance for pushing.