Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta

Sony/Konica-Minolta Dream. Create. Live

Old 26th July 2004   #1
King Tiger

Thumbs up 3rd Sony Council Gathering : 01/08/2004

Hi

We have a successful and wonderful photo taking at Arab Street on our 2nd Sony Council Gathering.
After discussion with a few of us, we would like to plan another nice, simple, but long duration shooting session.
It would be an opportunity for us (including me) to know other Sony users face to face, and also to exchange knowledge and information with other users and explore more ideas to enhance our photography skills (the way of the Jedi ).

Here is the pre-planned itinery:
Date : 01st August 2004 Sunday
Time : 3.30 pm (for those who wanna to meet together and buy some photographic equipment at Peninsula Plaza, we can all buy together, may get discount since there is lobang there )
3.30~3.45pm : Head count check and proceed
3.45~4.30om : Buy Buy Buy
Time : 4.30 pm (for those who meet for fireworks only, we have to meet early to find place to camp there for firework work at night)
4.30~4.45pm : Head count check and take a 5~10 mins walk to Esplanade area
4.45~5.00pm : Find good Fengshui area and camp there till firework
5.00~8pm : Chit Chat, dinner, equipment discussion, show off equipment, show off photos.
8.00pm~9pm : Firework begin, All Sony Jedis !!!! Fire at will !!!!
Catch the fascinating fireworks displays yet avoiding the crowd as we have identified 6 hot spots (highlighted in red).

This is an estimate timing only and should any members need to come later or go off earlier are free to do so.
Depending on the fireworks schedule, our session are likely to end at 9~10pm.

Do PM me your nick with your real name and hp number if you wish to join.
Once I finalise the total number of members, I will update on the thread again.

P.S. This gathering is not an competition or equipment comparision, it is just to know more knowledge on photography and know more friends.
Anyone of you have any more ideas and suggestion are free to express.

Last edited by King Tiger; 31st July 2004 at 04:23 PM.
Old 26th July 2004   #2
art2d2

Would like to join u guys but I mostly not available on Sundays. And I though on Sundays most shops in Peninsula are closed.
Old 26th July 2004   #3
King Tiger

Originally Posted by art2d2
Would like to join u guys but I mostly not available on Sundays. And I though on Sundays most shops in Peninsula are closed.
Hi art2d2

All the fireworks are schedule on Sunday night only, so do try to join our happy shooting if possible.
CP is close on Sunday, but we are going togehter to one "lobang" shop whom our council member is a good friend with the staff there.I hope to get a couple of dollars discount, introduction, built nice relationship so that we can have better price for future purchase.
Sponsored Link
Old 26th July 2004   #4
snowspeeder

Note the area where the fireworks will be displayed. From there, we should be able to determine a suitable spot that is without obstruction, and get there early.

http://www.sff2004.com./images/eventgrdLarge.JPG
Old 26th July 2004   #5
holeinone

Looks like the Marina Bay Promenade is the best vantage point. Very close to the action. Will that give us the best shooting angle? I have not shot fireworks before so maybe some of you old birds out there can advise?
Old 27th July 2004   #6
Del_CtrlnoAlt

actually my area is the B or C area.. around the stalls, den can find things to eat also..

if u guys wan we can line up 1 line of sony cameras, den we can get sony to come sponsor us drinks... hehehe.... who knows ppl at sony? den free teaching on shooting fireworks with sony cameras... sony can also bring us some remote controls and those remote control tripods. we dun mind wearing t-shirts with sony endorsed... den sony wanna put a big banner also can..
Old 27th July 2004   #7
rexus

may or may not join you guys. See how, will contact tiger if can make it there. Anyway, I personally feel that marina south will be a good place with less people.

Oh ya OT a bit ..i was recently plague by problems during nite exposure. The so call thermal noise (some random grey pixel or maybe other colours too) appears after 4 sec exposure. Wonder if anyone enounter this?
Old 28th July 2004   #8
T16

I have taken a shot from the Esplande side, posted as night16 in my album. Would that spot be good?
Old 28th July 2004   #9
snowspeeder

Originally Posted by T16
I have taken a shot from the Esplande side, posted as night16 in my album. Would that spot be good?
Seems like a good spot, cost that is probably the only place with those long benches where we could sit and wait. Only issue now is the distance from the fireworks, whether would it be too close. In any case, we must be there early to secure the spot.
Old 28th July 2004   #10
Del_CtrlnoAlt

i tried to send t16 my location... den his email like flooded liao..
Old 28th July 2004   #11
Del_CtrlnoAlt

hmm so name list???

1)King Tiger
2)Snowspeeder
3)Del_CtrlnoAlt
Old 28th July 2004   #12
Del_CtrlnoAlt

think we should list the things to bring...

1) Camera... god... anybody forget to bring... not my problem...
2) Tripod, sturdy sturdy 1...
3) Remote control... unless you can depress without shaking the camera.
4) Umbrella... i know i will not bring 1... but weather nowadays kinda siao... so better bring 1.
5) Bring a foldable chair, kinda optional, since the floor can sit also.
6) Bring water, food, titbits... magazine... something to waste time on...

things to ban... taking pictures with cellphones with camera... wtf those ppl thinking trying to take pics with a cellphone? might bring some pebbles or mayb a rock to throw at any spectators who does that... and also those who uses flash to capture fireworks... affecting my pics... oh ya... those with extra long head & hands and raise up their cell phones or stand up blocking our camera views... wat should we do?
Old 28th July 2004   #13
King Tiger

Default Will anyobe bring their wife/husband/girlfreind to see the Firework ?

Ermm.........will anyone of you bring your wife/girlfriend/partners to come and see firework?
Old 28th July 2004   #14
King Tiger

Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
think we should list the things to bring...

1) Camera... god... anybody forget to bring... not my problem...
2) Tripod, sturdy sturdy 1...
3) Remote control... unless you can depress without shaking the camera.
4) Umbrella... i know i will not bring 1... but weather nowadays kinda siao... so better bring 1.
5) Bring a foldable chair, kinda optional, since the floor can sit also.
6) Bring water, food, titbits... magazine... something to waste time on...
Good ideas, we should summarize a list for the camping that night.

Also, I think there will also have F-16 fighter jets fly over at around 7.10pm that day, just before the firework.
Old 29th July 2004   #15
snowspeeder

Originally Posted by King Tiger
Ermm.........will anyone of you bring your wife/girlfriend/partners to come and see firework?
I guess it does not matter whom anyone brings along. So long as they are not standing infront or too the our tripods. And also no flashes if they bring their little toy camera.
Old 29th July 2004   #16
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by snowspeeder
I guess it does not matter whom anyone brings along. So long as they are not standing infront or too the our tripods. And also no flashes if they bring their little toy camera.
ya lor, like wat i said above lor, bring pebbles to throw at ppl who is potential threats to making our pictures bad...
Old 29th July 2004   #17
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by King Tiger
i bring my personal assistant to carry my tripod...
Old 29th July 2004   #18
T16

i tried to send t16 my location... den his email like flooded liao..
Sorry about that, may be you could try ps2436@yahoo.com.sg, that mail box got 100MB and only 9% used.

The spot I took that shot was at the walkway.

I'm confirmed going around 5pm. See you guys there.
Old 29th July 2004   #19
T16

ya lor, like wat i said above lor, bring pebbles to throw at ppl who is potential threats to making our pictures bad...
Bring water gun, at least could aim and shoot but don't hurt.
Old 29th July 2004   #20
holeinone

hmm so name list???

1)King Tiger
2)Snowspeeder
3)Del_CtrlnoAlt
Think I want to go also. Include me for now. So where and what time huh?