Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Do we need to resize pics?

  1. #1

    Default Do we need to resize pics?

    Hi guys,

    Do we need to resize pictures for posting?
    And usually at what range do we need to resize it?
    Which will go first resize or crop?

    thank you.

  2. #2
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,393

    Default Re: Do we need to resize pics?

    No worries, just post in full resolution here. We are all photographers, we all have 27 inch screens. A real pixel peeper won't do it below. Only stingy people think about small screens, bandwidth and other minor things ..
    Beside this, if your picture is a really good one then many other guys will be happy to use for their purposes also. Downsized images will give lower image quality. So don't be shy, give is 18 mega pixels. We want them all!
    [If you find some irony feel free to keep it.]
    Last edited by Octarine; 8th February 2011 at 05:05 PM.
    EOS

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    beside jurong point
    Posts
    704

    Default Re: Do we need to resize pics?

    LOL Can i just laugh! Okay please do resize, image hosting website like flickr allows you to post photos of different size.

  4. #4
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Do we need to resize pics?

    Quote Originally Posted by PNOYSG View Post
    Hi guys,

    Do we need to resize pictures for posting?
    And usually at what range do we need to resize it?
    Which will go first resize or crop?

    thank you.
    for sharing in this forum, best is keep the longest length of your images at around 600 pixel,
    you crop your image first before resize,
    apply unsharp mask after resize,
    if you intend to add name or watermark, you can add after sharpen, else the font will be sharpen too.

    hope this help.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  5. #5
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Do we need to resize pics?

    You can use the Fastone Photo Resizer

    http://www.faststone.org/FSResizerDownload.htm

    Last edited by Diavonex; 8th February 2011 at 06:53 PM.

  6. #6
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Do we need to resize pics?

    your pictures are easily a few thousand pixels wide and there is no screen with enough resolution to display it. so it has to be resized.
    600 pixels wide is plenty

  7. #7

    Default Re: Do we need to resize pics?

    thank you guys for the help.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Do we need to resize pics?

    How about for display on 42" TV, may I know what size do I set?

  9. #9
    Senior Member Diavonex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Admiralty
    Posts
    3,641

    Default Re: Do we need to resize pics?

    Quote Originally Posted by jlim76 View Post
    How about for display on 42" TV, may I know what size do I set?
    I believe you set your camera Aspect Ratio to 16:9.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Diavonex

    I believe you set your camera Aspect Ratio to 16:9.
    I meant the pixel size to display from Tv assuming I won't be zooming. Must check individual tv manual?

  11. #11

    Default Re: Do we need to resize pics?

    Quote Originally Posted by jlim76 View Post
    I meant the pixel size to display from Tv assuming I won't be zooming. Must check individual tv manual?
    Yes, check your TV manual. However, most cameras with an HDMI-out will automatically have an HDMI-compliant image tumbnail embedded in the image.
    Alpha

  12. #12
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Do we need to resize pics?

    Quote Originally Posted by jlim76 View Post
    I meant the pixel size to display from Tv assuming I won't be zooming. Must check individual tv manual?
    the resolution for HD is 1920 pixel by 1080 pixel
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights
    the resolution for HD is 1920 pixel by 1080 pixel
    Oh ya hor, thanks!

    Will also go search more on the thumbnails thingy.

  14. #14
    Deregistered shaoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Clementi/West Coast
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Do we need to resize pics?

    When it's too big, people using smaller screens such as netbook or iPhones may have problem viewing it.
    To me, it is better to resize to a "web size". The "web size" used to be 640px X 480px.

    If your dimension is different, it is ok.
    Last edited by shaoken; 9th February 2011 at 09:34 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •