Thread: Fuji Finepix HS10

Default Fuji Finepix HS10

hello.. as a newbie, i want to start with a decent point and shoot camera with megazoom lens.. i'm thinking of buying a fuji finepix hs10 or the powershot sx30is. i called bally photo and quoted me S$535 (or S$585 i can't remember ) for the hs10.. if i go for the hs10, i'm quite hesitant to buy from this shop due to a quite number of bad comments i read.. for the sx30is, any idea about the price? i prefer the camera with a better quality image.. any suggestions pls? thanks..

Default Re: Fuji Finepix HS10

Quote Originally Posted by lupindaterd View Post
    hello.. as a newbie, i want to start with a decent point and shoot camera with megazoom lens.. i'm thinking of buying a fuji finepix hs10 or the powershot sx30is. i called bally photo and quoted me S$535 (or S$585 i can't remember ) for the hs10.. if i go for the hs10, i'm quite hesitant to buy from this shop due to a quite number of bad comments i read.. for the sx30is, any idea about the price? i prefer the camera with a better quality image.. any suggestions pls? thanks..
    S$585 is much cheaper than what I paid for my HS10. And don't worry about getting conned: because a superzoom camera like the HS10 does not have replaceable lenses or 'kit lens', it is VERY unlikely that you will get any surprises once you open the box.

That being said, I am a HS10 user myself, and i think it's a rather decent camera for a newbie/enthusiast/prosumer, if i say so myself. Still, you might want to take note of the following quirks the camera tends to exhibit:

- at the widest angle (28mm), vignetting is painfully obvious, but it only shows itself when you are shooting against a pure white background and positioning your lens 10cm away from the subject at Macro mode. soft spots are present at the corner, but this issue happens very randomly, and not often at all.

- no hotshoe cap (you stingy Fujifilm, you)