Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: flash setting

  1. #1

    Default flash setting

    hi i am using canon 50D and nissin di866 flash. how am i going to change the shutter sync to 2nd curtain? my setting for shutter sync is grey out, unable to change. can any expert please advise? thanks
    Poor Man With Expensive Hobby

  2. #2
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: flash setting

    Usually you will do this in the camera, via Custom Functions. But maybe 50D is different from my model.
    In which mode are you? Not all settings are accessible in the Auto mode and in all Basic Modes (e.g. landscape, portrait etc.).
    EOS

  3. #3

    Default Re: flash setting

    hi octarine, thanks for your reply. i set my camera to manual, AV and TV mode but still unable to change the shutter sync.

    i have no issue to change the shutter sync for the built in flash when i removed the external flash.
    Poor Man With Expensive Hobby

  4. #4
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: flash setting

    Quote Originally Posted by alf6901 View Post
    hi octarine, thanks for your reply. i set my camera to manual, AV and TV mode but still unable to change the shutter sync.
    i have no issue to change the shutter sync for the built in flash when i removed the external flash.
    Then it seems to be a compatibility issue with the flash. The camera does not recognize the flash and its capabilities. Seems you need to set '2nd curtain' on the flash itself. You can try indoors, any moving person and a shutter speed of 1/30s should clearly show the effect of 2nd curtain.
    Had something similar with my EOS5 (film) and 430EX. Had to set '2nd curtain' on the flash. It's just one button. You can download the manual from Canon US website.
    EOS

  5. #5

    Default Re: flash setting

    i thought this model is should be compatibility? or is it problem with the flash?
    http://www.nissindigital.com/en/compatibilitychart.html
    Poor Man With Expensive Hobby

  6. #6
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,522

    Default Re: flash setting

    Quote Originally Posted by alf6901 View Post
    i thought this model is should be compatibility? or is it problem with the flash?
    http://www.nissindigital.com/en/compatibilitychart.html
    maybe yours is not the Canon-compatible one?
    They do make for Nikon system as well. Externally it should look almost the same, except for the pin contacts.
    Exploring! :)

  7. #7
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: flash setting

    Quote Originally Posted by alf6901 View Post
    i thought this model is should be compatibility? or is it problem with the flash?
    http://www.nissindigital.com/en/compatibilitychart.html
    You could check with a friend who also has a Canon system. See whether his camera acts in the same way.
    EOS

  8. #8

    Default Re: flash setting

    hi thanks, i found the issue already.
    Poor Man With Expensive Hobby

  9. #9
    Member Dylan1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    691

    Default Re: flash setting

    shouldnt have any problem. i am using 50d with 866...

    seems tt u found the issue... so what actually happen? O.o

  10. #10

    Default Re: flash setting

    i thought i have to change the setting in the camera. but i found out that i have to manual change the TTL setting of the flash to 2nd curtain, then the display on the camera will change from 1st to 2nd..haha
    Poor Man With Expensive Hobby

  11. #11
    Member Dylan1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    691

    Default Re: flash setting

    oh i get what u mean... yeap for 3rd party all got to set from the flash itself.

    one thing i dont like abt the flash is that when i dont need flash i got to hold onto the off button before it turns off or turn on... canon's easier to turn on n off. but well, for the amt paid i cant ask for much

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •