Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 40 of 40

Thread: Shutter count

  1. #21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra

    Unless the shutter count was like few hundred or something, it shouldn't be a big deal that it's not zero. What was the shutter count anyway?

    I notice that many ppl tend to think of a camera's shutter count like a car's mileage... I don't think it's appropriate to think that way.
    Agree. I know when saying "not zero" will invite confusion but can't think of a proper way so I still say 0 ( trying to use ipad here). My count was 900+ After checking the count I went to NSC to confirmed before I go back to camera shop to get changed. Lucky they are friendly enough.

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    East
    Posts
    293

    Default Re: Shutter count

    Quote Originally Posted by Graton View Post
    i just downloaded the exiftool but no use cannot see any more software u guys recommend?
    you never give up .....

    http://www.opanda.com/en/iexif/

  3. #23
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ted888

    Agree. I know when saying "not zero" will invite confusion but can't think of a proper way so I still say 0 ( trying to use ipad here). My count was 900+ After checking the count I went to NSC to confirmed before I go back to camera shop to get changed. Lucky they are friendly enough.
    Ahhh ok... 900+ is not exactly very little. I can understand you'd be a little ticked off since you basically paid a small premium for a BRAND NEW product.

    Glad it was all settled smoothly.
    Exploring! :)

  4. #24
    Graton
    Guests

    Default Re: Shutter count

    Quote Originally Posted by kutten View Post
    you never give up .....

    http://www.opanda.com/en/iexif/
    why shud i give up lol photography is all about patience

  5. #25

    Default Re: Shutter count

    Hi TS im using 550d same as you.

    after getting this cam for about 2-3 months, my shutter count stands at roughly 12-14k. at this rate, it should be dead within 2 years.

    BUT

    what is a few hundred dollars shutter replacement compared to the priceless photos you're missing out due to not wanting to shoot with it?
    Canon EOS 550D|BG-E8|Tamron 17-50 f2.8|18-55mm IS|55-250mm IS|
    Flickr

  6. #26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra
    worry less and shoot more

    if it fails, it fails. Just get it replaced.
    You don't watch TV and worry about when the backlight will fail, do you?
    Same goes for car tyres, etc.
    Well said

  7. #27
    Graton
    Guests

    Default Re: Shutter count

    thanks all

  8. #28
    Graton
    Guests

    Default Re: Shutter count

    i would like to know how to check my shutter using opanda?

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,216

    Default Re: Shutter count

    Need helps on the checking of cam's shutter counts.
    Did download the opanda Iexif version 2.3 (free) and it's operating fine
    However there is no item on the sheet showing the nos. of shutter counts which I am looking for.

    Help or advice needed

    Thanks

  10. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    East
    Posts
    293

    Default Re: Shutter count

    Quote Originally Posted by Graton View Post
    i would like to know how to check my shutter using opanda?
    Quote Originally Posted by stevepow View Post
    Need helps on the checking of cam's shutter counts.
    Did download the opanda Iexif version 2.3 (free) and it's operating fine
    However there is no item on the sheet showing the nos. of shutter counts which I am looking for.

    Help or advice needed

    Thanks
    Just open any Jpeg file, click on the "summary" or "EXIF" icon and you should see the total number of shutter releases for camera as follows :


  11. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,216

    Default Re: Shutter count

    Quote Originally Posted by kutten View Post
    Just open any Jpeg file, click on the "summary" or "EXIF" icon and you should see the total number of shutter releases for camera as follows :

    Funny leh... my opanda exif 2 doesn't show the same as that you had paste. No noise reduction or shutter releases entries
    I did click on both summary and exif icons as well and it didn't show

  12. #32

    Default Re: Shutter count

    there isn't a need to worry about shutter count. Just use it till you don't want it or when you upgrade it.

    your camera build is meant for you to abuse your shutter not save your shutter count.. ^^
    Nikkon D90 | AF-S NIKKOR 18-105mm 1:35-5.6G | DI866 External Flashlight | AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G

  13. #33
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    East
    Posts
    293

    Default Re: Shutter count

    Quote Originally Posted by stevepow View Post
    Funny leh... my opanda exif 2 doesn't show the same as that you had paste. No noise reduction or shutter releases entries
    I did click on both summary and exif icons as well and it didn't show
    I tried a few more photos here and I don't see a problem ..
    Try a newly taken photo. Some how certain photos that have gone thru' PP may not show up.
    Well, when I bought my new camera, the shutter counts was only 5. At least I know how good the condition of the camera I bought. . Other than this, I normally don't check.

  14. #34
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,216

    Default Re: Shutter count

    Quote Originally Posted by skylover View Post
    there isn't a need to worry about shutter count. Just use it till you don't want it or when you upgrade it.

    your camera build is meant for you to abuse your shutter not save your shutter count.. ^^
    I know both my cam are specified to last 150k but in case I need to let them go most buyers will probably want to know the shutter counts as well

  15. #35
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore
    Posts
    1,216

    Default Re: Shutter count

    Quote Originally Posted by kutten View Post
    I tried a few more photos here and I don't see a problem ..
    Try a newly taken photo. Some how certain photos that have gone thru' PP may not show up.
    Well, when I bought my new camera, the shutter counts was only 5. At least I know how good the condition of the camera I bought. . Other than this, I normally don't check.
    Will try it out on a shot without PP

    Thanks

  16. #36
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: Shutter count

    dun worri abt shutter counts, itz more abt hits and misses...
    most cams are designed to work for years and years, i haf a 40d sc ard 122k, still surviving...

    no worries abt de count thingy, itz like fate....when times up, its time to go...in the camera's case...either change a new one or change the shutter...

    cheers....
    Canon 1000D (Tamron 17-50 F/2.8, Tamron 19-35 f/3.5-4.5, EFS 55-250, EF 50 F/1.8)

  17. #37
    Graton
    Guests

    Default Re: Shutter count

    well took alot of photo but haven tried yet

  18. #38
    Graton
    Guests

    Default Re: Shutter count

    just now tried opanda but nvr show me shutter count so use back exiftool also nvr show back how?

  19. #39

    Default Re: Shutter count

    Quote Originally Posted by Graton View Post
    just now tried opanda but nvr show me shutter count so use back exiftool also nvr show back how?
    Try these steps:

    1. Take a picture with your camera.
    2. Upload the picture to your computer. Do not edit it with any post processing programs.
    3. Ensure that Exiftool is in the same location as your picture.
    4. Drag the picture and drop it onto Exiftool.
    5. A Dos Box should open, and lines of data should be seen scrolling through the box. Wait for it to finish loading.
    6. Scroll through the data, you should be able to find a line displaying your shutter count.

    This works for me.

  20. #40
    Graton
    Guests

    Default Re: Shutter count

    well cannot yet lol did not see any shutter count thingy only have index

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •