Thread: Which zoom lens is better?

Default Which zoom lens is better?

Hi guys, considering to purchase a zoom lens for taking pictures like in the zoo/birdpark. May i know which is a better lens to buy? budget around $400.

Thanks

Default Re: Which zoom lens is better?

Quote Originally Posted by etherealz View Post
    Hi guys, considering to purchase a zoom lens for taking pictures like in the zoo/birdpark. May i know which is a better lens to buy? budget around $400.

Thanks
    DA/DAL 55-300mm

Cheap and good . U can't go wrong with this lens ....
    My Flickr ->Flickr

Quote Originally Posted by Supersimon27 View Post
    DA/DAL 55-300mm

Cheap and good . U can't go wrong with this lens ....
    Cool. Tks.. May i know the difference of DA and DAL? Is it the optical that they use? Sorry a newbie here.

thats a good one,

order than that Tam18-200mm
    as a overall walkabout

Optical formula is the same. just that dal version uses plastic lens mount and has no quick shift.

Gotten a Tamron 18-250mm, so far has been reliable. Brought $380 as is second hand. 1st owner used for 5 months only.It's good for walkabout and definitely the one lens u can bring for overseas trip

Hi , given your budget the DA 55 - 300 would be your best bet. This lens will be able to deliver in 90% of the time under good lighting condition.

Just take note that this lens will probably struggle when you attempt to take headshots of the mandrill at 300mm f/5.8 ( esp. when the mandrill is sitting under the shape ) . I think even if you fire the flash, may not help, considering the distance between the subject and you.

Otherwise this is a value for money lens, considering the size, focal length and price. Happy shooting at the zoo .
    Last edited by maverickh; 7th January 2011 at 10:30 PM.

As suggested DA 55-300.
    Best long zoom for the money. My only dislike for it was the slow f5.8 at 300mm which meant that ISO had to be on the high side, esp on cloudy days.