Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Self-Timer

  1. #1

    Default Self-Timer

    Hi

    I wanted to take a group photograph and was trying set the self-timer. Looking through the manual, I tried following the instruction on the manual but it doesn't seems to work.

    Could someone advise me on that? I am using a Nikon D5000.

    Many Thanks
    kc

  2. #2
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Self-Timer

    Quote Originally Posted by kpinnacle93 View Post
    Hi

    I wanted to take a group photograph and was trying set the self-timer. Looking through the manual, I tried following the instruction on the manual but it doesn't seems to work.

    Could someone advise me on that? I am using a Nikon D5000.

    Many Thanks
    kc
    please specify which part or step do not work.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  3. #3
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Self-Timer

    Quote Originally Posted by kpinnacle93 View Post
    Hi

    I wanted to take a group photograph and was trying set the self-timer. Looking through the manual, I tried following the instruction on the manual but it doesn't seems to work.

    Could someone advise me on that? I am using a Nikon D5000.

    Many Thanks
    kc
    did you see the timer symbol appear on the back LCD?

    The S with a square around it is the usual shooting mode. It represents 'single-shot' mode. If multiple-shot mode, will be some squares layered on top of each other.
    Last edited by ZerocoolAstra; 31st December 2010 at 06:14 PM.
    Exploring! :)

  4. #4

    Default Re: Self-Timer

    @catchlight - after completed all steps. i.e went to the customer setting menu > timers/AE lock > Self-timer > set to 5s / no. of shots 2.

    @zerocool - eh.. didn't see any on the screen for the sign you had mentioned

    Regards
    kc

  5. #5
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kpinnacle93
    @catchlight - after completed all steps. i.e went to the customer setting menu > timers/AE lock > Self-timer > set to 5s / no. of shots 2.

    @zerocool - eh.. didn't see any on the screen for the sign you had mentioned

    Regards
    kc
    I think you have to change "shooting mode" to self timer. I can't remember the exact name.
    Exploring! :)

  6. #6

    Default Re: Self-Timer

    well, after you have set the timer, you need to press the shutter button... i think maybe you missed that step...

  7. #7
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hitendra
    well, after you have set the timer, you need to press the shutter button... i think maybe you missed that step...
    Hahaha funny la you. I think he set what happens when self timer is activated, but didn't switch shooting mode to self timer
    Exploring! :)

  8. #8

    Default Re: Self-Timer

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra View Post
    Hahaha funny la you. I think he set what happens when self timer is activated, but didn't switch shooting mode to self timer
    yep.. have to start the self-timer, right

    but hopefully his problem is sorted out and he takes a great group photo

  9. #9

    Default Re: Self-Timer

    Press MENU/ Infor button,
    Go to the left and select up and down to the PENCIL icon.
    select CUSTOM SETTING MENU on the LCD.
    Click down to c TIMERS/AE LOCK and click to the right.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Self-Timer

    Hi All

    I have found it! I have found it! yay!!! Although its after all the function/parties are over.

    Go to CUSTOM SETTING MENU > click 'Shooting/display' > 'Assign Self-timer/Fn button to Self-timer icon. Of course you will have to go to the Timers/AE lock to set the choice of timers. - 2s 5s 10s or custom.

    Thank you Catchlights, Zerocool, hitendra and mitsucolt for your invaluable feedbacks.

    Hope the New Year bring smooth sailing to all your endeavours.

    Regards
    kc

  11. #11
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default

    Well done


    you should get a D90
    Just push the "shooting mode" button and turn the scroll dial to timer mode! Easy as 1-2-3!

    (just teasing you hor...)
    Exploring! :)

  12. #12

    Default Re: Self-Timer

    Quote Originally Posted by ZerocoolAstra View Post
    Well done


    you should get a D90
    Just push the "shooting mode" button and turn the scroll dial to timer mode! Easy as 1-2-3!

    (just teasing you hor...)
    wa.. you are poisoning me with D90 wor. Am still an idiot to DSLR world ya.... got the D5000 last Sept and still trying to figure out on the how and when to adjust the speed, aperture, iso, dof and stuff like that. woooo my head is in a swirl

    definitely need more of your guidance in the coming days ya....

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •