Thread: Hi everyone! Merry Christmas from a newbie~!! ;)

Default Hi everyone! Merry Christmas from a newbie~!! ;)

This being my first post, I would like to say Merry Christmas everyone and have a glorious new year!

I'm a total noob to photography actually. Dont even have my own camera hence hopefully will be able to get a 2nd hand one soon but dont have any idea as to what to get. haha. Just learnt yesterday what a pancake is... lol~

Anyways, I was thinking to get a cam with the following specs and hope you guys/gals have any recommendations for me.

- Must take clear pictures
    - Be able to take decent night shots
    - look like a vintage camera
    - preferably in white
    - suitable for a noob keen on a dslr
    - not too bulky
    - Does not run on AA/AAA batteries

See, told you i'm a noob. Lol. Dont know all those fancy jargons that are usually used here. heh~

I was thinking of getting either one of the following. Do let me know what u think ya?
    1) Panasonic LX3/LX5 - white
    2) Olympus EPL1 - white
    3) Panasonic GF1 - white

Hope to hear from you guys soon and Merry Christmas everyone!

Cheers, sweeet

Firstly, those cameras you are considering are not related to DSLR. They are just a higher end of PnS/Compact.

Secondly, if you want a camera that looks like a vintage cam, then go for rangefinders. The Leica M9 is a good start.

Default Re: Hi everyone! Merry Christmas from a newbie~!! ;)

Welcome to CS...
    Canon EOS 60D | EFS 15-85 IS USM | EFS 18-55 IS | EFS 55-250 IS | EF 50F1.8II | Nissin Di622 Mark II

A couple of your requirements are too simplistic. Example: night shots. Are you referring to night portraits (usually using flash for the foreground face) with limited background scenery (cause it's dark). Or do you refer to long term exposures?