Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 62

Thread: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

  1. #41

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband



    Pffffft. Stupid Starhub 100mbps plans...
    Alpha

  2. #42
    Member armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pinnacle@Duxton
    Posts
    1,381

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    my current plan singnet 6mbps
    Local


    International
    _____________________________________
    ***People only failed when they give up***

  3. #43
    Member Foxshade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    In cat's stomach
    Posts
    849

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by armadillo View Post
    Foxshade, what is your plan?
    I remember they cap intl speed to 25mbps dl/ul.
    The plan that I subscribe 50mpbs only.
    I'm on 100mbps plan.

    25mbps is SGP backbone to outside the country.

    This means any connection to servers outside SGP, the max (under ideal condition) is 25 mbps.
    A true photograph need not be explained, nor can it be contained in words.
    ~Ansel Adams

  4. #44

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband


  5. #45
    Member Foxshade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    In cat's stomach
    Posts
    849

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by mrleech View Post
    Nice!

    When running the test, can you run netstat command to find out which server you are connecting to for the speed test.

    Mine is 202.150.221.170. It belongs to new media express.

    addendum:
    Tracert result:
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 11 ms 22 ms 8 ms 242.246.65.202.unknown.m1.com.sg [202.65.246.242
    ]
    5 10 ms 8 ms 7 ms 241.246.65.202.unknown.m1.com.sg [202.65.246.241
    ]
    6 10 ms 8 ms 8 ms 50.246.65.202.unknown.m1.com.sg [202.65.246.50]

    7 10 ms 8 ms 8 ms cr1.1net.ne.com.sg [218.100.70.22] = SINGAPORE INTERNET EXCHANGE LIMITED
    8 11 ms 8 ms 9 ms 203-174-80-209.rev.ne.com.sg [203.174.80.209] = New Media Express
    9 8 ms 10 ms 8 ms 202-150-221-170.rev.ne.com.sg [202.150.221.170] = New Media Express

    So it went from M1, SGIX, reached New Media Express' speed test server. It did not went through the 25mbps bottleneck.
    Last edited by Foxshade; 21st January 2011 at 12:44 AM.
    A true photograph need not be explained, nor can it be contained in words.
    ~Ansel Adams

  6. #46
    Senior Member ricleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    6,549

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    just got my M1 fibre optic broadband activated and installed, seems to work well and is really fast!

    however i've run into a problem where some sites that used to work properly are not loading nicely, and some have stopped loading when i use the M1 fibre optic broadband.

    anyone face the same issue?

    one of my blogspot page no longer works, but another one works fine, my UK internet banking website doesnt work anymore, and some google searches, when clicked leads to pages that cannot be loaded, and images of many eBay auctions are not loading....

    i've verified that the webpages are still working fine by loading them on my iphone....i've tried using my win XP, win 7 and win vista (2 netbooks n 1 lappie), and all 3 show the same problem....

    gave a call to M1 and will wait for their fibre optic "experts" to give me a call tomorrow when i am at home in the evening....
    A7R3|V12|V15|FE28|MS17|MS35|MS50|50lux|50C|50Artis an|FD85L|FE85|90 cron|
    Σ24|35L|Σ50|135L|70-200G2

  7. #47
    Senior Member ricleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    6,549

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband



    sorted out my settings, its some router issues hehe....works fast n great now!
    A7R3|V12|V15|FE28|MS17|MS35|MS50|50lux|50C|50Artis an|FD85L|FE85|90 cron|
    Σ24|35L|Σ50|135L|70-200G2

  8. #48
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,849

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by ricleo View Post


    sorted out my settings, its some router issues hehe....works fast n great now!
    u on what plan? i am switching to m1 fibre optic plan next mth during pc show!

  9. #49
    Senior Member ricleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    6,549

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    ha i'm on the 25 mbps plan
    A7R3|V12|V15|FE28|MS17|MS35|MS50|50lux|50C|50Artis an|FD85L|FE85|90 cron|
    Σ24|35L|Σ50|135L|70-200G2

  10. #50
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,849

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by ricleo View Post
    ha i'm on the 25 mbps plan
    cool! u are like getting more bandwidth then u should haha

  11. #51
    Member armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pinnacle@Duxton
    Posts
    1,381

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Got mine installed 2 days ago singtel 50mbps.
    Local internet seem quite good, but oversea can't make it.
    _____________________________________
    ***People only failed when they give up***

  12. #52

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by armadillo View Post
    Got mine installed 2 days ago singtel 50mbps.
    Local internet seem quite good, but oversea can't make it.
    good stuff are in oversea, so what's the point if connection still cannot make it.
    Objection !!!

  13. #53
    Member armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pinnacle@Duxton
    Posts
    1,381

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    my international speed:
    _____________________________________
    ***People only failed when they give up***

  14. #54
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,849

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    M1 fiber optic plan just got activated today!

    Before (SNBB 10mbps)


    After (M1 Fiber Optic 25mbps)


    International Speeds
    Last edited by sinned79; 31st March 2011 at 08:38 PM.

  15. #55

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    is starhub fibre ops up/ I called them and they said still pending..



    Don't know how this works but when i'm downloading my speed were like 200-500kb/s normal days. Quiet days up to 1.2mb/s
    Last edited by Sgdevilzz; 31st March 2011 at 09:04 PM.

  16. #56

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    I don't understand how they plan the fibre network roll-out.

    In my area, all my neighboring blocks are already wired except mine. Why didn't they wired my block too ? And to make it worse, mine is schedule to mid 2012 while all the blocks surrounding mine are already wired up now.

    I wrote to them but yet to receive an answer from them.

    For home use, the current M1 25 mbps package is more than sufficient and well priced. ST and SH must come up with better packages or risk losing all their home customers to M1.


  17. #57
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,849

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky78 View Post
    For home use, the current M1 25 mbps package is more than sufficient and well priced. ST and SH must come up with better packages or risk losing all their home customers to M1.

    ST already lost me as a long time customer haha

  18. #58
    Senior Member Virgo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    West of Singapore
    Posts
    4,816

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by ninelives View Post
    good stuff are in oversea, so what's the point if connection still cannot make it.
    Quote Originally Posted by armadillo View Post
    my international speed:
    That's examples of why it's no use to have such incredible speeds. As long as your destination end bottlenecks your connection speed, everything is going down to the drain, including your monthly charges.
    Kind Regards
    My Picture Website

  19. #59
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,849

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by Virgo View Post
    That's examples of why it's no use to have such incredible speeds. As long as your destination end bottlenecks your connection speed, everything is going down to the drain, including your monthly charges.
    well... if your speed is too low... it will make it worst.

    Look at my SNBB 10mbps ($79 with laptop promo, $45 for standalone plan) vs M1 Fiber Optic 25mbps ($39 per mth)

    SNBB


    M1


    I think SNBB ADSL capped their upload speed way too ridiculously and i am actually paying more for a slower speed.

    anyway i agree with u no point getting 100mbps plan when a 25mbps is sufficient enough for home use.

  20. #60
    Senior Member Virgo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    West of Singapore
    Posts
    4,816

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Bro, to me, 4.48Mb/s and 5.72 Mb/s is not much difference. At least one will not be able to notice the difference in speed, because they are just as slow!

    Unless 2 things, either SNBB increase my current BB plan until I cannot accept it (which I don't think this will be the case), or the fibre link's monthly charges drop to a price that is much lower than my current 6mbps pricing, I'm staying put.

    One of the reason is that I still love my 3COM ADSL modem to bits. Very stable, and allows me all the control I need. Current modems are just CMI.

    Quote Originally Posted by sinned79 View Post
    well... if your speed is too low... it will make it worst.

    Look at my SNBB 10mbps ($79 with laptop promo, $45 for standalone plan) vs M1 Fiber Optic 25mbps ($39 per mth)

    SNBB


    M1


    I think SNBB ADSL capped their upload speed way too ridiculously and i am actually paying more for a slower speed.

    anyway i agree with u no point getting 100mbps plan when a 25mbps is sufficient enough for home use.
    Kind Regards
    My Picture Website

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •