Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 62

Thread: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

  1. #1
    Senior Member ricleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    6,557

    Default New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Hi guys,

    anyone switched to the new optic fibre broadband services from ST n M1 yet? any comments on speed/reliability?

    would also be interested to know if the ST/M1 packages are blocking the torrent IPs like my Starhub...can't download anything

    feel like switching to these new ones hee....
    A7R3|V12|V15|FE28|MS17|MS35|MS50|50lux|50C|50Artis an|FD85L|FE85|90 cron|
    Σ24|35L|Σ50|135L|70-200G2

  2. #2
    Member voxies09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    651

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by ricleo View Post
    Hi guys,

    anyone switched to the new optic fibre broadband services from ST n M1 yet? any comments on speed/reliability?

    would also be interested to know if the ST/M1 packages are blocking the torrent IPs like my Starhub...can't download anything

    feel like switching to these new ones hee....
    Torrent is suc..k.. better use megaupload 1.5Mbps download speed using normal Starhub cable MaxOnline
    Canon Kiss X4 | 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS II Kit lens | 50mm f1.8

  3. #3

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    general rule of thumb: NEVER be the first one to try.... let others be the guniea pigs.....

    New things will ALWAYS have bugs and screw-ups, esp from our local telcos.......

  4. #4

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Has your building even been fibre-enabled yet?

    http://rollout.opennet.com.sg/


    Looking at the opennet map, they are prioritizing schools and government buildings first.

    What's really funny is Kasai road near Yio chu kang - in the middle of nowhere, but every small house there has fibre already. Makes you wonder who lives there.
    Alpha

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    494

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    I still think that it's still not so stable yet. Let it stable first..
    キヤノン 450D + 5D2 + 5D3 + 6D + 富士フイルム XP1 :)

  6. #6
    Member Taurean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    White Elephants Town
    Posts
    1,703

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by donut88 View Post
    general rule of thumb: NEVER be the first one to try.... let others be the guniea pigs.....

    New things will ALWAYS have bugs and screw-ups, esp from our local telcos.......


    Agreed! As it is still quite new, there maybe some teething problem still. IIRC yesterday Digital Times have a article on the Fibre Broadband.

    I'm still tied under contract for my current BB plan else I'll be itching to switch and be one of those guinea pigs too

  7. #7
    Senior Member ricleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    6,557

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    haha yes my house is fully set up by OpenNet liao...received a letter from them saying i can choose from any of the 2 providers, and they gave me brochures for ST and M1. Just M1 is cheaper, and offers faster max upload/DL speeds compared to ST, thinking since they are using the same network, maybe it doesn't matter which i choose, just go with the cheaper one?

    Just want to get out of Starhub...lousy non-existent customer service...i had to be on hold for 40mins just to speak to someone on the SH hotline...
    A7R3|V12|V15|FE28|MS17|MS35|MS50|50lux|50C|50Artis an|FD85L|FE85|90 cron|
    Σ24|35L|Σ50|135L|70-200G2

  8. #8
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,858

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    i am switching to m1 fibre optic next year when my snbb plan ends. their 25mbps is so cheap only... as compared to my existing 10mbps plan which costs me $80+ (ok i take their laptop promo last time...)!

  9. #9
    Senior Member ricleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    6,557

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    yea haha my hse is set up i presume looking at this...funny they din put in the legend what purple means

    A7R3|V12|V15|FE28|MS17|MS35|MS50|50lux|50C|50Artis an|FD85L|FE85|90 cron|
    Σ24|35L|Σ50|135L|70-200G2

  10. #10

    Default

    My house has been wired. Think if you have current contract, maybe the ISP might allow upgrades to their fibre optic plans. Considering as well.
    Licence to shoot.

  11. #11

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    dont need so fast lar...usually depand on the source. if source slow, upgrading your broadband doesn't help.
    Objection !!!

  12. #12
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,858

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by ninelives View Post
    dont need so fast lar...usually depand on the source. if source slow, upgrading your broadband doesn't help.
    the point is... if u compare m1 fibre optic plan (25mbps), its way cheaper then a normal bb plan now

  13. #13

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by ricleo View Post
    haha yes my house is fully set up by OpenNet liao...received a letter from them saying i can choose from any of the 2 providers, and they gave me brochures for ST and M1. Just M1 is cheaper, and offers faster max upload/DL speeds compared to ST, thinking since they are using the same network, maybe it doesn't matter which i choose, just go with the cheaper one?

    Just want to get out of Starhub...lousy non-existent customer service...i had to be on hold for 40mins just to speak to someone on the SH hotline...
    Hihi, I got a letter from them also, but I still have a broadband contract with Singtel. Anyone knows if that means I have to wait till the end of the contract?

  14. #14

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by ricleo View Post
    yea haha my hse is set up i presume looking at this...funny they din put in the legend what purple means

    Oh, where did you get this site? I want to check mine.

  15. #15
    Member armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pinnacle@Duxton
    Posts
    1,381

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Actually plan to subscribe, tried to call ST since few days ago, unable to get them yet, always heavy call traffic
    _____________________________________
    ***People only failed when they give up***

  16. #16
    Senior Member ricleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    6,557

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by AMediaLuz View Post
    Oh, where did you get this site? I want to check mine.
    as give by bro rashkae earlier

    http://rollout.opennet.com.sg/
    A7R3|V12|V15|FE28|MS17|MS35|MS50|50lux|50C|50Artis an|FD85L|FE85|90 cron|
    Σ24|35L|Σ50|135L|70-200G2

  17. #17
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,858

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by armadillo View Post
    Actually plan to subscribe, tried to call ST since few days ago, unable to get them yet, always heavy call traffic
    u get faster response going to singtel shop haha.

    i give up on their hotline already.

  18. #18
    Member armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pinnacle@Duxton
    Posts
    1,381

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    yeah, maybe this weekend visit their singtelshop
    _____________________________________
    ***People only failed when they give up***

  19. #19
    Senior Member ricleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Eastern Singapore
    Posts
    6,557

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    i may go for M1, plans look reasonable. can't seem to find the ST plans online.... anyway wow students get the 100MBPs package for only $39

    A7R3|V12|V15|FE28|MS17|MS35|MS50|50lux|50C|50Artis an|FD85L|FE85|90 cron|
    Σ24|35L|Σ50|135L|70-200G2

  20. #20
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,858

    Default Re: New High Speed Fibre Broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by ricleo View Post
    i may go for M1, plans look reasonable. can't seem to find the ST plans online.... anyway wow students get the 100MBPs package for only $39
    very expensive for singnet.

    http://info.singtel.com/personal/com...am/price-plans

    they capped their international bandwidth also.

    i heard only M1 doesn't cap their international bandwidth.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •