Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Dark spots on D70 image; help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    East/west
    Posts
    372

    Default Dark spots on D70 image; help



    Hi

    Help need regarding dark spot on top of image.

    When i look thru the viewfinder, it does not show up and when i use my kit lens, on white sky its shows a small black blurry spot at the top when i load the image into the computer.

    When i use my 50mm f/1.4, it doesn't show but when i stare hard enough i could see a faint black spot on white image.

    Thot the kit lens was dirty and clean it together with my 50mm but its still showing. Is this becos the CCD is dirty and how do i go abt cleaning/rectifying it. Advise appreciated

    tks

    I will post pics if i know how...

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Payar Lebar
    Posts
    314

    Default

    Most probably is your CCD dirty.. dun worry try to use the blower kit to blow away.

  3. #3

    Default

    I got such blur spots from my 300D recently too... I thought it was my lens, but realised that dust specks in lens will not show up on images...

    So I flipped up my cam's pentamirror and used a blower to blow the CCD... it worked...

    Hope this helps...
    Jia Wang... "A photo is only as beautiful as the photographer's eyes can see."
    My Eyes ;)

  4. #4
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Never blow the CCD with a blower.

    Just send in to Nikon Singapore for CCD cleaning.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tanah Merah
    Posts
    645

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    Never blow the CCD with a blower.

    Just send in to Nikon Singapore for CCD cleaning.

    Why...? will that damage the ccd....?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    391

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jia Wang
    I got such blur spots from my 300D recently too... I thought it was my lens, but realised that dust specks in lens will not show up on images...

    So I flipped up my cam's pentamirror and used a blower to blow the CCD... it worked...

    Hope this helps...

    Pardon me. What you did is a no no. You will ruin your CCD. Maybe it is really damaged.

  7. #7

    Default Dust on CCDs

    Quote Originally Posted by Robin
    Why...? will that damage the ccd....?
    Mr Pok,

    Ya the CCD will be damaged, unlike film where you get a new frame each time. With CCDs once dust gets in it stays there. I'd send it for professional cleaning. Don't DIY.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    East/west
    Posts
    372

    Default

    tks all for your helpful advice.

    Will send in to nikon service centre this week. Anybody knows whether there will be any costs. I just bot it last month.

    Cheers

  9. #9
    Senior Member scud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,808

    Default

    if still under waranty, cleaning of ccd should be free.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jia Wang
    I got such blur spots from my 300D recently too... I thought it was my lens, but realised that dust specks in lens will not show up on images...

    So I flipped up my cam's pentamirror and used a blower to blow the CCD... it worked...

    Hope this helps...
    Hi!

    1. 300D has a CMOS sensor. not CCD.
    2. The pentamirror cannot be flipped. It's behind the focus screen. What you flipped was the reflex mirror.
    3. Do NOT manually flip the reflex mirror. Use the sensor cleaning function to get it out of the way.
    4. Using a blower (no brush) on the sensor is recommended by Canon (despite what the other say. RTFM before making others panic). be careful not to touch the sensor.
    5. if the blower dont work, send it in. Canon charges $20 for a sensor clean.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    East/west
    Posts
    372

    Default

    Just had mt D70 cleaned today....the spot has disappeared and the cleaning took less than 5mins..


    tks for those that reply

    cheers

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by headlesschook
    Hi!

    1. 300D has a CMOS sensor. not CCD.
    2. The pentamirror cannot be flipped. It's behind the focus screen. What you flipped was the reflex mirror.
    3. Do NOT manually flip the reflex mirror. Use the sensor cleaning function to get it out of the way.
    4. Using a blower (no brush) on the sensor is recommended by Canon (despite what the other say. RTFM before making others panic). be careful not to touch the sensor.
    5. if the blower dont work, send it in. Canon charges $20 for a sensor clean.
    heheh... pls pardon me for my lack of technical knowhow... yup, I used the sensor cleaning function to get the reflex mirror up... and yup, blew without the brush of course... so glad to know that Canon recommended this procedure too... for a while I thought I screwed up my 300D... but anyway, been taking photos after the the blowing... image quality not affected leh... phew..
    Jia Wang... "A photo is only as beautiful as the photographer's eyes can see."
    My Eyes ;)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •