Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie who wants to buy a mcro lens

Default Newbie who wants to buy a mcro lens

Hi to all bros and sis here. I am relatively new to DSLR and would like to take some macro photos. I was thinking between the Canon 60MM, 100MM or the 100MM Lseries lens for macro. Recently my friend told me don't bother to buy the 100MM as he mention something about crop factor. I don't quite understand what he means though. Can some pros wish to enlight me? and would it be wise to get the 100MM L lens? Oh by the way, i'm using Canon EOS 60D. Thank you all for your precious advices

Default Re: Newbie who wants to buy a mcro lens

I am shooting macro using a crop body attached with a 100mm borrowed from a friend so I dont get it why your friend would say not to get the 100mm macro lens!
    7D w/ 70-300mm/50mm1.8/70-200F4L/17-50mm F2.8

He mention something about crop factor. Saying that 60D does not have full frame, etc which i am not sure what he mean

Quote Originally Posted by ctxx83 View Post
    Hi to all bros and sis here. I am relatively new to DSLR and would like to take some macro photos. I was thinking between the Canon 60MM, 100MM or the 100MM Lseries lens for macro. Recently my friend told me don't bother to buy the 100MM as he mention something about crop factor. I don't quite understand what he means though. Can some pros wish to enlight me? and would it be wise to get the 100MM L lens? Oh by the way, i'm using Canon EOS 60D. Thank you all for your precious advices
    not a canon user nor a pro, but what's wrong with the 100mm specifically? if you're using a 60D, ALL lenses will give you 1.6x magnification (the "crop factor"). means as compared to the traditional 35mm film, your 60D's sensor is smaller, making your Field-of-View already zoomed in to 1.6x that of full-frame sensors.