Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: am i holding on to a dud?

  1. #1

    Default am i holding on to a dud?

    hi CS-ers

    i bought in Oct this year a 16gb sandisk ultra CF card from a shop in SLS. the box has vector's sticker, that is why i bought from that shop.

    i formated the card in the camera (canon 20d) before using the card.

    i only just noticed the below. the next photo is how the card looks like to me.

    what has happened?? Have i been sold a dud? FAT32 format max size is 2tb, so the problem shouldn't be with the format.

    Appreciate your kind advice. Thanks!



    The unreLenting pursuit of perfection.

  2. #2

    Default Re: am i holding on to a dud?

    The maximum possible number of clusters on a volume using the FAT32 file system is 268,435,445. With a maximum of 32 KB per cluster with space for the file allocation table (FAT), this equates to a maximum disk size of approximately 8 terabytes (TB).

    I doubt your 20D can support more than 8Gb, since the technology used back then is not as advanced yet. I dunno what file system the 7D uses.
    Last edited by JJLoke; 17th December 2010 at 03:03 AM.
    Canon 6D | Canon 450D + Grip | EF 28 F1.8 | EF 85 F1.8 | Nissin 866 Flash

  3. #3

    Default Re: am i holding on to a dud?

    try using a card reader

  4. #4
    Member voxies09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    651

    Default Re: am i holding on to a dud?

    you should try to reformat the card in your pc instead of camera

  5. #5
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: am i holding on to a dud?

    Question is... can the 20D use 16GB cards in the first place?

    Read this to find out...

    http://photo.net/canon-eos-digital-camera-forum/00LBBQ

    8 GB is the largest card the camera will support "as is". In regards to the problem of it not recognizing any card larger than 8GB, I would theorize based on the fact that Canon's EOS 1-series DSLRs were upgraded with firmware to correctly recognize cards beyond 8GB, that this could be possible with a firmware mod on the 20D. However as nobody really seems to be doing any hacks for the 20D at all, it will probably never happen.
    According to Sandisk, the 20D has an 8GB limit.

    See http://www.sandisk.com/Compatibility...n-EOS_20D.aspx

    I don't know what Canon has to say. They don't tend to publish max memory card size in the camera specs.
    Problem is with the camera. Not the card.
    Last edited by daredevil123; 17th December 2010 at 09:00 PM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: am i holding on to a dud?

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Question is... can the 20D use 16GB cards in the first place?
    Read this to find out...
    http://photo.net/canon-eos-digital-camera-forum/00LBBQ
    Problem is with the camera. Not the card.
    Solution is 2 pages farther:
    http://photo.net/canon-eos-digital-c...0LBBQ?start=20
    The format utility in the 20D cannot go beyond 8GB. Using PC utilities (they mention Linux tools) one can create a larger partition on the card, format using FAT32 and the camera will recognize it. Page 4 shows that formatting in a 400D will help (400D supports 8GB), card can be used in 20D.
    EOS

  7. #7
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: am i holding on to a dud?

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Solution is 2 pages farther:
    http://photo.net/canon-eos-digital-c...0LBBQ?start=20
    The format utility in the 20D cannot go beyond 8GB. Using PC utilities (they mention Linux tools) one can create a larger partition on the card, format using FAT32 and the camera will recognize it. Page 4 shows that formatting in a 400D will help (400D supports 8GB), card can be used in 20D.
    Looking at TS's posts... I doubt he/she uses Linux.

  8. #8
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: am i holding on to a dud?

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Looking at TS's posts... I doubt he/she uses Linux.
    The Windows equivalents are there as well. Partially professional tools, partially Windows ports of Linux software. Doesn't matter much, finally.
    EOS

  9. #9

    Default Re: am i holding on to a dud?

    hi all. thank you for your advice! it didn't occur to me that it was the camera. somehow was fixated on thinking i was sold a dud.

    once again, thanks to all!
    The unreLenting pursuit of perfection.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •