Thread: A newbie here lost his images!

Default A newbie here lost his images!

Hey everyone,

I am a newbie to digital photography, an ametuer by all means. I just got back from a cruise to Alaska and took about 200 nature and wildlife photos that were coming out great. I went to go view the images on my computer, popped the card into the card reader and my reader shows that no images are on the card. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity and I really want these images. Does anyone have anyway to get these images back? Thanks

Can you still view them on the camera's LCD?

Don't do anything just yet. If you can still view them on your camera lcd then use the software that comes with the camera to transfer the images to the computer. It may just be compatiblity issue. If you cannot view them on the camera then you might just have lost it.

I cannot view them on the camera or on the reader. The camera asks me to format the card but there is no way I am doing that. I have heard of ways to recover these lost images using programs that do an undelete like the old Dos used to but so far I have only found programs for hard drives.

I have actually had this problem before as well, thought I lost all the images for good but I found some software online by doing a search on google for "image recovery software" and came across a couple of companies that off services to send the cards in to have the images recovered. I believe if this is a Lexar or SanDisk card they include their own photo recovery software.

Well i knew I came across something in the past that helped me a month or so ago. I found this software on Rob Galbraith's forums and it recovered all my images as far I can tell. Good Luck!

http://www.flashfixers.com/software/imagerecall.asp

Thank you for all the information. I will give that software package a shot and let you know the results. Thanks for all the help today.