Thread: Need help with colours !

Default Need help with colours !

Hello everyone,

Don't know if this is the right place to post my question, so please forgive me if it isn't!

I am a newbie to photography, just bought my very first camera (Canon DSLR) a week ago. I've seen a lot of photos on the net and in comparison to what I've took, there's so much difference in the colour quality!

In my photos http://www.flickr.com/photos/5686035...n/photostream/, the colours look so dull and flat. I've done some research and tried to adjust the 'Custom White Balance' to set the Kevin manually and experimenting with the shutter exposure but it's nowhere near what I wanted it to be. (For e.g. Grass just don't look green enough and flowers look like they are sick)

Hence, I was wondering if it is a must to colour-correct/photoshop the photos before you can achieve those effects. Do filters also play a part in capturing vibrant colours? Do I really need a grey card to customize the white balance?

Please kindly assist!
    Last edited by Kateris; 10th December 2010 at 03:40 AM.

Default Re: Need help with colours !

Post some samples.

White balance does not have anything to do with whether your photos are dull and flat. Filters do not help the colours become more punchy either.
    Olympian

Yeah, post pix so we can see what you mean.

Any DSLR (or compact for that matter) should be able to give you nice, vibrant colours at default settings, if your subject is nice and colourful, and the light is good.

Too many times I hear complaints of dull colours when the shots were taken on a dull, overcast day!

Hello,

Thanks so much for your prompt reply! I've just created a Flickr account and added 2 sample pictures up there.