Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: how to desaturate PS7

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    589

    Default how to desaturate PS7

    Just gotten myself a PS7 and now blindly using the program. Can anyone teach me how to do selective desaturation with this program? There is no seletion brush tool in PS7 right? Read somewhere online about masking then selection but it was for elements and PS7 don't have this function so very blur already....thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Deregistered satan_18349's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    hell 極樂世&
    Posts
    1,498

    Default

    use the pen tool (need some practice but its the best tool) to pen out the area that you want, right click "make selection", choose 0 or 1 feathering if you want to be precise and desaturate....if you want the the opposite, choose select inverse...

  3. #3
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    If you just want to desaturate the whole picture, do a Image -> Adjustments -> Desaturate.

    If you want a certain part in colour & the rest desaturated, you can select the History Brush after Desaturation and brush over the parts.

    If you just want a certain amount of desaturation, do a Image -> Adjustments -> Hue/Saturation (Ctrl-U). Ajdust the saturation to liking.

    Hope it helps

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    589

    Default

    thanks guys, PS quite hard to use esp for newbie but you guys make it easier.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by satan_18349
    use the pen tool (need some practice but its the best tool) to pen out the area that you want, right click "make selection", choose 0 or 1 feathering if you want to be precise and desaturate....if you want the the opposite, choose select inverse...

    hi satan,
    i tried doing wat u had suggested, but after i chose "select inverse" i tried to go Image->Adjustments->Desaturate.. but the "Adjustments" was disabled/greyed out.. how do i only desaturate a certain portion??

    thanks for any advice!

  6. #6
    Deregistered satan_18349's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    hell 極樂世&
    Posts
    1,498

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by furrypaws
    hi satan,
    i tried doing wat u had suggested, but after i chose "select inverse" i tried to go Image->Adjustments->Desaturate.. but the "Adjustments" was disabled/greyed out.. how do i only desaturate a certain portion??

    thanks for any advice!
    Cannot be...check and make sure its in RGB mode...try again, after you have pen out the area that you want, closed the path,
    --->right-click->make selection->choose amount of feathering
    ->enter->Image->adjustments-> desaturate. Just click select inverse when you want to do other adjustment other than the area that you had initially pen-out.

    Hope it solve your problem...have fun!!

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by satan_18349
    Cannot be...check and make sure its in RGB mode...try again, after you have pen out the area that you want, closed the path,
    --->right-click->make selection->choose amount of feathering
    ->enter->Image->adjustments-> desaturate. Just click select inverse when you want to do other adjustment other than the area that you had initially pen-out.

    Hope it solve your problem...have fun!!
    hi satan,
    i've checked, its in RGB mode.. but its still disabled..

    pls see my printscreen.


  8. #8

    Default

    1. duplicate layer of background
    2. desaturate
    3. under layers, click add layer mask
    4. use the brush tool in white to go over the places that you want desaturated... you can adjust the flow of the brush to 50% so that you get more control.
    5. flatten layers

    does that help?

    Last edited by evildolly; 29th June 2004 at 08:23 AM.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by furrypaws
    hi satan,
    i've checked, its in RGB mode.. but its still disabled..

    pls see my printscreen.

    from the little bit i can see from your printscreen, it looks like u have the wrong layer selected.

  10. #10

    Default

    thanks dolly, headlesschook,
    i managed to get it, think there're more steps needed to get to the correct layer... dolly, i havent tried ur method yet, but will do so once i find the time. thanks!

  11. #11
    Senior Member Virgo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    West of Singapore
    Posts
    4,816

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ptwong
    thanks guys, PS quite hard to use esp for newbie but you guys make it easier.
    I would suggest you to read up some books on PS if you're really keen in going into PS. The rewards are unimaginable!
    Kind Regards
    My Picture Website

  12. #12

    Default

    Where is the best place to learn PS.. Any course or books(for photographer) to recommend?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •