Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Street and Candids

Street and Candids Fleeting moments of everyday life captured ...

Old 21st June 2004   #1
rainman

Default Haw Par Villa.....( no wonder no ppl go)

Just went to Haw Par villa with gf and family..it really sucks. Nothing to see and nothing to shoot. Even though its free entry also no 1 want to go there.

The "18 levels of hell" need to pay $1 for entry but I also dun dare to shoot...
(Better be safe than sorry )

Even my gf's father also say go zoo shoot life animal better... keke

Anyhow shoot a few and some family pics (her mum very euthusaitic)...

My advice is dun ever go there (for watever reason)

Some pics to share and the last 1 is just a candid shot of my dog JJ.

Old 21st June 2004   #2
Mockngbrd

why the hell cannot shoot?
Old 21st June 2004   #3
AReality

Originally Posted by Mockngbrd
why the hell cannot shoot?
He scared shoot liao see images on the negative/digital.
Sponsored Link
Old 21st June 2004   #4
rainman

gf father say dun shoot...dun make old ppl upset mah...
anyway this kind of picture also not that good to take....

"An Quan Di yi...."
Old 21st June 2004   #5
Minoxman

I'm sure HawPar villa has more interesting scenes than what you posted.
Old 21st June 2004   #6
kelster

har har...the statue of liberty velly the chinna look leh...har har...
Old 21st June 2004   #7
LiOnElLiN

that place was nothing but a mistake (and a waste of land).
for crying out loud, its a diorama of hell! to think they used to charge an entry fee??!?

how on earth did the tour guides make tourists of the past pay money to go in there? "okay, all those of you who are willing to pay money to go to hell, please raise your hands"
Old 21st June 2004   #8
ewhale

Ya. I went there once. I think it was kinda spooky cause almost no one was around. The 'hell' was closed then. They used to charge very high entry during the hey days. What a rip off!!!
Old 21st June 2004   #9
Bleahhh

Originally Posted by LiOnElLiN
"okay, all those of you who are willing to pay money to go to hell, please raise your hands"

hahah..i guess it was a blast frm the past...and they can go to hell...lol......it used to be so crowded.....
Old 22nd June 2004   #10
rainman

Originally Posted by Minoxman
I'm sure HawPar villa has more interesting scenes than what you posted.

I will post some more pics for u guys to see... Just my own opinion..In fact it was my first time in life to visit haw par villa. What can I say? It sucks.

I should have post some pictures around the entrance and let u guys see... pathethic and have a strong feeling that the place is barren... damn bad

Indeed I really feel that it was a waste of land at that instance. Even the lady "jargar" the jade shop inside Haw Par also sian sian look.. compare to Sentosa nearby...It was not even comparable.

(From me)
Old 22nd June 2004   #11
satan_18349

Originally Posted by rainman
I will post some more pics for u guys to see... Just my own opinion..In fact it was my first time in life to visit haw par villa. What can I say? It sucks.
mm....your first time...guess you must be very young ...

actually to me its quite a memorable place cos the Tiger palm villa (prev.named) was quite interesting with all those unqiue statues...will go again if i have time...not just for the sake of getting good things to shoot but just to revive the feel of young times...
Old 23rd June 2004   #12
LiOnElLiN

Originally Posted by satan_18349
mm....your first time...guess you must be very young ...

actually to me its quite a memorable place cos the Tiger palm villa (prev.named) was quite interesting with all those unqiue statues...will go again if i have time...not just for the sake of getting good things to shoot but just to revive the feel of young times...
young times? the only kids i used to see there where always in this scenario:

Parents standing in front of a tortured statue and telling their kids...
"behave yourself or you'll end up like that!"

...i hope yours was of pleasant memories
Old 23rd June 2004   #13
CoExist

must respect teh place man.. last time it was probably the only recreational place in spore like machum disney land.... but now is all settled n just a lying antique.... but hey how come ur 70-300 APO sigma look so bright.. everytime i use my 70-300, it has this yellowish tinge to it like underexposed but is not le.. so sad... issit due to fungus.. got a lil bit inside... mayeb is time to clean it. .how much wld a cleaning thing be???
Old 23rd June 2004   #14
rainman

Originally Posted by CoExist
must respect teh place man.. last time it was probably the only recreational place in spore like machum disney land.... but now is all settled n just a lying antique.... but hey how come ur 70-300 APO sigma look so bright.. everytime i use my 70-300, it has this yellowish tinge to it like underexposed but is not le.. so sad... issit due to fungus.. got a lil bit inside... mayeb is time to clean it. .how much wld a cleaning thing be???

look bright? Hmm actually by default it slighlty underexposed. I pumped up the exposure by 2/3 and do some sharpening in adobe elements.

Yellow tinge mayb its ur WB...probably u need to meter ur WB. Come to think of it, nowdays all these problems I corrected in the software, which I think it's a bad idea to do so..cos not learning wat! keke...

I'm a beginner and is still learning...hope one day I can catch hold of all the basic techniques

Fungus u can see wat...shine a torchlite thru the lens and u can see clearly.
Old 24th June 2004   #15
TRiShnDaisy

that place was nothing but a mistake (and a waste of land).
for crying out loud, its a diorama of hell! to think they used to charge an entry fee??!?

how on earth did the tour guides make tourists of the past pay money to go in there? "okay, all those of you who are willing to pay money to go to hell, please raise your hands"

young times? the only kids i used to see there where always in this scenario:

Parents standing in front of a tortured statue and telling their kids...
"behave yourself or you'll end up like that!"

...i hope yours was of pleasant memories

Yeah!!! It was awful!
Seriously don't think it's a place for kids...with all its concepts of retribution and condemnation. The images of hell haunted me for a while...

Last edited by TRiShnDaisy; 24th June 2004 at 09:40 AM.
Old 24th June 2004   #16
Vynara

*laughs* speaking of HPV, I actually wanted to re-visit that place... ya, i'm one of those whose parents brought me there in hopes that i'll be scared and refrain from sinning i guess i'll just go there... even if there's nothing interesting to shoot, i hope it'll be a little nice experience reliving childhood experience...

eh... so what, it's free enterance now, but $1 if I wanna go to hell?
Old 24th June 2004   #17
rainman

Originally Posted by Vynara
*laughs* speaking of HPV, I actually wanted to re-visit that place... ya, i'm one of those whose parents brought me there in hopes that i'll be scared and refrain from sinning i guess i'll just go there... even if there's nothing interesting to shoot, i hope it'll be a little nice experience reliving childhood experience...

eh... so what, it's free enterance now, but $1 if I wanna go to hell?
ha! if u really want to go hell...just do alot of evil deeds now..keke (just joking)

Probably HPV doesn't interest me at all...not only there is nothing to shoot there is not much to see also...And most of the statues have already discolored... Well for those who still wish to go HPV still can give it a shot.. The onli attraction there is the "hell"...

Can see many kind of eccentric totures...cool~
Closed Thread