Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: principle of the third rule

Default principle of the third rule

the third rule is one of the most basic rule photographers knows....i am a newbie....does it mean that i cannot choose my one of my focus point in the camera in the middle...but must choose the top/bottom or left/right...focus point

Default Re: principle of the third rule

Quote Originally Posted by niventham View Post
    the third rule is one of the most basic rule photographers knows....i am a newbie....does it mean that i cannot choose my one of my focus point in the camera in the middle...but must choose the top/bottom or left/right...focus point
    Why not? You can always use the center focus point to focus, lock the exposure and recompose after that.

You can choose the middle point to focus, then recompose.

You mean "the rule of thirds", right? It's not "the third rule".
    Alpha

eh ya rule of thirds...but if i use center focus then wont my picture be at the centre ?

the rule of third is recommend you to place the interest of your subject at the intersection points, not asking you to set your focusing point at intersection points.

btw focus and recompose will not always work, that is why modern cameras has so many focusing points.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

if i put my point of interest at the intersecting point....and if i dont place my focus point at that point of interest wont it go out of focus

if i put my point of interest at the intersecting point....and if i dont place my focus point at that point of interest wont it go out of focus
    Depends on the aperture you use. In landscape photography where you normally use a very small aperture like f/11 or 1/16 it doesn't matter, your DOF will be very deep anyway.

It's more of a challenge when shooting portraits.
    Alpha

i am using a 18-70 mm lens...at f4.5 but why isnt my pic do not have a shallow of field...???