Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: CS5

  1. #1

    Default CS5

    Hi all,

    Im new in Photoshop.. can CS5 open D7000 raw photo?


  2. #2

    Default Re: CS5

    Not sure... The latest Camera RAW, 6.2, doesn't list it yet.

    http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=4807
    Alpha

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    West
    Posts
    2,808

    Default Re: CS5

    You can download ACR 6.3 RC. It will open your D7000 raw files.

  4. #4

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by Daoyin View Post
    You can download ACR 6.3 RC. It will open your D7000 raw files.
    Ah, the release candidate. Good point.
    Alpha

  5. #5

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by Daoyin View Post
    You can download ACR 6.3 RC. It will open your D7000 raw files.
    Thanks. BTW, just checked and my photoshop is CS4 not CS5

    Anyway to download the later ACR for CS4? where is the web page? Sorry Im new

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Senior Member raydio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,522

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by HELLOSTEVEN View Post
    Thanks. BTW, just checked and my photoshop is CS4 not CS5

    Anyway to download the later ACR for CS4? where is the web page? Sorry Im new

    Thanks
    Unfortunately, CS4 will not accept current versions of ACR and therefore will not accept nor convert your D7000 RAW files. This is Adobe's way of making you upgrade to their latest product... sigh
    Last edited by raydio; 22nd November 2010 at 10:52 AM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    West
    Posts
    2,808

    Default Re: CS5

    Dear TS, I suggest you switch over to Elements (if you are not into layers) or Lightroom from CS4. Adobe is not likely to come up with a new raw plug-in for CS4 that will include the D7000 raw. From track record, Adobe has provided ACRs up to two versions back for Elements (BUT not for LR !).
    Last edited by Daoyin; 22nd November 2010 at 09:48 AM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member raydio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,522

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by Daoyin View Post
    Dear TS, I suggest you switch over to Elements (if you are not into layers) or Lightroom from CS4. Adobe is not likely to come up with a new raw plug-in for CS4 that will include the D7000 raw. From track record, Adobe has provided ACRs up to two versions back for Elements (BUT not for LR !).
    I believe that PhotoShop Elements is capable of layers. It is Lightroom that does not have this feature. Elements and Lightroom are also much less expensive than PhotoShop CS5. Elements v.9 contains over 90% of the capabilities of CS5.

  9. #9

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    Not sure... The latest Camera RAW, 6.2, doesn't list it yet.

    http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=4807
    Quote Originally Posted by Daoyin View Post
    You can download ACR 6.3 RC. It will open your D7000 raw files.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    Ah, the release candidate. Good point.


    Thanks

  10. #10

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    Not sure... The latest Camera RAW, 6.2, doesn't list it yet.

    http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=4807
    Quote Originally Posted by Daoyin View Post
    You can download ACR 6.3 RC. It will open your D7000 raw files.
    Quote Originally Posted by raydio View Post
    Unfortunately, CS4 will not accept current versions of ACR and therefore will not accept nor convert your D7000 RAW files. This is Adobe's way of making you upgrade to their latest product... sigh
    Quote Originally Posted by Daoyin View Post
    Dear TS, I suggest you switch over to Elements (if you are not into layers) or Lightroom from CS4. Adobe is not likely to come up with a new raw plug-in for CS4 that will include the D7000 raw. From track record, Adobe has provided ACRs up to two versions back for Elements (BUT not for LR !).
    Quote Originally Posted by raydio View Post
    I believe that PhotoShop Elements is capable of layers. It is Lightroom that does not have this feature. Elements and Lightroom are also much less expensive than PhotoShop CS5. Elements v.9 contains over 90% of the capabilities of CS5.
    Sad to know that CS4 cannot use for D7K raw..
    Thinking to get the CS5 next mth..

  11. #11

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by HELLOSTEVEN View Post
    Sad to know that CS4 cannot use for D7K raw..
    CS4 can open raw files from the D7000. Here's how: Download the free DNG converter from Adobe. Convert the NEF raw files to DNG. Those will open in CS4 Camera Raw. (DNG is a raw file and has all the image data that the original raw file has.)

  12. #12

    Default Re: CS5

    Thanks, but how to Convert the NEF raw files to DNG?


  13. #13

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by HELLOSTEVEN View Post
    Thanks, but how to Convert the NEF raw files to DNG?

    Have you downloaded and installed the DNG converter?

  14. #14

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by Peano View Post
    Have you downloaded and installed the DNG converter?
    No, I wish to find out more before download the DNG converter..

  15. #15

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by HELLOSTEVEN View Post
    No, I wish to find out more before download the DNG converter..
    If you download the converter, you'll see from the interface exactly how it works.
    Last edited by Peano; 25th November 2010 at 04:00 AM.

  16. #16

    Default Re: CS5

    It's good to consider storing your files in DNG format as this is "open". Read more here, http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=4803

  17. #17

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by Peano View Post
    If you download the converter, you'll see from the interface exactly how it works.
    Quote Originally Posted by 2evans View Post
    It's good to consider storing your files in DNG format as this is "open". Read more here, http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=4803
    Thanks... will try...

  18. #18

    Default Re: CS5

    Quote Originally Posted by Peano View Post
    Have you downloaded and installed the DNG converter?
    Quote Originally Posted by 2evans View Post
    It's good to consider storing your files in DNG format as this is "open". Read more here, http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=4803
    Quote Originally Posted by HELLOSTEVEN View Post
    Thanks... will try...
    I had tried and it work... thanks for Peano & 2evans input...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •