Thread: Canon EF-S 17-85mm VS Canon EF-S 18-135mm?

Default Canon EF-S 17-85mm VS Canon EF-S 18-135mm?

Hi everyone, I am new to photography, need some opinions and feedback from the pros out there

I'm thinking to get either Canon EF-S 17-85mm or Canon EF-S 18-135, any advise? which will perform better in term of sharpness and etc for just this 2 lens if compared?

I'm looking for a longer focal length for my general purpose lens apart from kit lens EF-S 18-55mm.

Looking for more comments to help me decide, thanks

if u looking for longer focal length, why not look at the 55-250 IS, u can still keep ya 18-55, a cheap solution,
    LORD of THe NoObs
    FLICKR

i think about that before, but for general purpose lens, i am thinking if i can still take wider angle such as 17 or 18mm but still able to get a bit longer focal length compare to 18-55mm, it's still not so troublesome to keep changing lens, for e.g. 55-250mm starts from 55mm, but if those 18-135mm or 17-85mm starts from 17/18mm, is my thinking wrong/not good??

but if those 18-135mm or 17-85mm starts from 17/18mm, is my thinking wrong/not good??