Thread: Difference when viewing on LCD and on PC

Default Difference when viewing on LCD and on PC

Dunno if I'm the only guy with this problem around. But when I take a picture, it looks ok on the camera's LCD, bright with good contrast. But when I transfered over to the PC, it looks dark, or underexposed. Tried using Photoshop's auto-levels / auto-contrast but it doesn't makes much of a difference. Why is this the case? I'm using a Canon S1 IS.

I mean if it looks ok on the LCD, why doesn't it look the same when its on the PC, shouldn't the LCD reflect the exposure setting results correctly. Anyone can help ? I'm quite new to digital photography. Thanks

you could try brightening your monitor or dimming your camera's lcd till they match.

alternatively, you could try posting your shots up for scrutiny

from my super novice perspective...

sometimes you have to callibrate the monitor (CRT or LCD) to match the picture. Cos the LCD on the camera is preset & you can't change the brightness of the lcd, but with monitor, some may prefer dark, some prefer light, so you have to callibrate to the standard. there is also this icm (something like a protocol) for the monitor & printer to set so as to get the same printout result on the monitor as well as printouts. there is also a professional self calibration unit, where you have to attach to your monitor & it will callibrate to the industry standard of brightness & such... (hmm btw those are too expensive for a novice like me, besides... i dun own those super high end monitors)
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

Quote Originally Posted by zedwerkz