Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: Turn off data connectivity when overseas

  1. #41

    Default Re: Turn off data connectivity when overseas

    yea, my friend went to malaysia for few days. came back with $1.5k bill. can buy another iphone liao

  2. #42

    Default Re: Turn off data connectivity when overseas

    Quote Originally Posted by happyfrog View Post
    yea, my friend went to malaysia for few days. came back with $1.5k bill. can buy another iphone liao
    These huge bills are most likely from using google map. My bro came back from a short trip to HK to find a $500 bill for data usage.. I checked with him and he said he only used google maps to find his way back to the hotel one night..= ="

  3. #43

    Default Re: Turn off data connectivity when overseas

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    I think this is one aspect where a "smartphone" should actually be smart. If a specific phone maker/OS is incapable of warning users about data roaming and making sure there is a specific willingness to data roam, it's not being smart.

    I also know iPhone users who were at raffles place and their phone switched to the indonesian telco and they were on data roaming - while in singapore!!! So are you saying these users should always use 2 phones, etc?

    Don't expect a phone that labelled as "smartphone" to do all the smart things for you, it's just a phone that can do more than a regular phone. In order to achieve optimum operations & performance, all you need is a proper setting with the device and you're good to go. Also please read your phone manual.

    Anyway, Data Roaming is OFF by default, unless you turn it on and forget to turn it off. You can use 2 phones if you want to, but manually select your preferred network is a SMARTER choice!
    Photography is do the right thing in the right time at the right place.

  4. #44
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    1.45N 103.83E
    Posts
    3,202

    Default Re: Turn off data connectivity when overseas

    Quote Originally Posted by chewraisins View Post
    These huge bills are most likely from using google map. My bro came back from a short trip to HK to find a $500 bill for data usage.. I checked with him and he said he only used google maps to find his way back to the hotel one night..= ="
    that was lucky. My friend's daughter play online games with his Iphone while on a driving trip into malaysia. S$8++ for a few minutes.


    BTW I installed papago on my iphone and i use it oversea without any data charges.

  5. #45
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    West Legion
    Posts
    7,751

    Default Re: Turn off data connectivity when overseas

    I think we should start calling our PnS as SmartCamera, since all we need to do is aim and shoot while the camera will do the rest for us!

  6. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    sing
    Posts
    3,353

    Default Re: Turn off data connectivity when overseas

    When in JB used a bluetooth GPS receiver to send satellite data to my Nokia. Set my phone GPS to Bluetooth GPS. Disable the other 3 choices.
    You have 4 choices of GPS position settings in Nokia.
    1. Bluetooth GPS
    2. Assisted GPS
    3. Integrated GPS
    4. Network based

    The Nokia OVI map does sense that you are out of home country and it gives a warning message that overseas data roaming is expensive.
    You can carry on to use with bluetooth GPS receiver. Make sure A-GPS is off.
    After that check your phone Log and the Data Packet manager - check that data packet count is zero.
    That's my phone which looks safe.


    But different story when checking friend's Nokia e72 in Singapore (this friend's phone is on starhub dataplan). Had manually set Nokia e72 connection manager to Off. Also disabled the A-GPS and Network Based manually. So what happened when checked the e72 GPS 10 seconds later? Everything changed back by itself to data connection ON. The Assisted-GPS, Network Based are ON again without user intervention.
    In Singapore, one is quite safe as many have so-called "unlimited" dataplan - actually 12GB, lah.
    Last edited by ricohflex; 26th October 2010 at 10:39 PM.

  7. #47
    Senior Member Big Kahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    2,127

    Default Re: Turn off data connectivity when overseas

    I feel....a responsible telco should opt out data roaming by default...I believe majority of mobile users would not want a bill shock due to whatever reason.....it really does not make sense to charge thousand of dollars just for a short use....and let those genuine user option to opt-in instead since they are able to justify the cost....with that, a lot of innocent life will be spared

    Can someone with good England start a petition to IDA

  8. #48

    Default Re: Turn off data connectivity when overseas

    Quote Originally Posted by victorlee10 View Post
    The default on android is to disallow data when roaming. I feel that's the way it should be for all smart phones considering that the vast majority of users are not willing to pay for it and wouldn't know / remember to turn it off.
    yup, the default should be set by the convenience of the majority of users, not which setting earns more money as it just makes the customer experience lousy.

  9. #49

    Default Re: Turn off data connectivity when overseas

    for those using WM phone, you can download a small software called Modaco NoData.
    it can toggle GPRS on and off.
    not sure if there is one for iphone tho.

  10. #50
    Member ahlionel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    117′N 10350′E
    Posts
    112

    Default Re: Turn off data connectivity when overseas

    Why oversea roaming are alway expensive..
    As a GSM operator, they are allow to charge the roaming users a surcharge up to 10%. As there could be a external billing/accounting company involved for payments.

    Secondly, data charges are charge according per kB.


    To minimise any data charges local or oversea.
    Setting wi-fi connection as priority, iphone/ android have this features.
    (read the manual)

    else

    Create a empty GPRS setting profile to eliminate any accidental pressing. No sure how, can always ask the telecom company or phone manufacturer or read the manual


Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •