Thread: LightRoom vs Photoshop

Default LightRoom vs Photoshop

Hi peeps,

Newbie here! Just want some comments on editing photos.

Which is better? Lightroom or Photoshop? And where to buy Photoshop at good price!

Cheers and thanks in advance!

Blog Entries

Default Re: LightRoom vs Photoshop

Quote Originally Posted by Mobulas Pt View Post
    Hi peeps,

Newbie here! Just want some comments on editing photos.

Which is better? Lightroom or Photoshop? And where to buy Photoshop at good price!

Cheers and thanks in advance!
    Depends on what you mean by better?

Both are very good at what they are designed to do. Some people use both in their workflow.

Price does not deviate too much. But if you are a student and use the software for non commercial purposes, you can buy it at the student price. Just ask around in SLS. You will need to show proof of your status as a student.

Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Depends on what you mean by better?

Both are very good at what they are designed to do. Some people use both in their workflow.

Price does not deviate too much. But if you are a student and use the software for non commercial purposes, you can buy it at the student price. Just ask around in SLS. You will need to show proof of your status as a student.
    Both got their own strength... Best is to have both of them...

Lightroom is great for light editing (cropping, white balance, tilting, lens correction, gradual filter etc) and management for photos. In short, if ya just wanna upload photo to facebook or clubsnap, lightroom is good enough for ya.

Photoshop is useful if u wanna do more complicated editing... mainly if u wanna send your photos for competition or for professional purposes...

For me 90% I am using lightroom as I normally upload my photo to facebook or photobucket for sharing purpose. If for commercial or photoshop purpose then I would use photoshop... Hope it helps your decision. :-D