Thread: Is lightroom for me?

Default Is lightroom for me?

Calling out to all lightroom users, would appreciate a little bit of your advice.

I'm considering using lightroom 3 to manage my photography, but as I have no prior experience with it, I'm not sure if it suits my needs.

For many years i've been using the photoshop+ACR+windows explorer combi as my workflow. Gradually, i've been finding that this workflow just takes too much time, effort and isn't quite as elegant as i want it to.

I want a simple way to import, organise and batch edit my photos. I want to spend as little time managing the photos as possible so that I could focus more on the editing. Does lightroom allow for all photos in a library to be sorted, by say rating, or date, or keyword? And does the editing features allow me to make local adjustments to the image? (Such as selective sharpening, curves adjustments etc) Is there a backup feature in lightroom as well? How about facebook integration?

Any thoughts much appreciated. thanks in advance!
    Photography is about seeing without a camera.
    60D | LX3 | Flickr

Default Re: Is lightroom for me?

The photo management system of LR3 is very comprehensive.
    yes, you can sort by those that you mentioned.
    You can make local adjustment
    Not sure about selective sharpening though, as I do not do sharpening at LR, but you can adjust curves

You can backup the catalog (database of your management *note, it's only backing up the data, not your images)

why not download the trial and try it out?
    Last edited by wdEvA; 22nd October 2010 at 08:58 PM.

Lightroom can help ya to manage your photos in amazing speed with light editing... It has five modules... library, develop, slideshow, print and web... (last 3 module I never use before... :-D)

For the library module, it works like Bridge... can label... batch rename... rating... date.. etc.