Thread: shutter speed decays with shutter count?

Default shutter speed decays with shutter count?

Hi, i have been using a Nikon D80 for nearly 3 years now, the shutter count is nearing 80,000. Is there something wrong with my camera if it canīt take 3 frames per second when it ages or should i just bring it down to the service centre? also, it canīt start in cold weather, not a problem in singapore but a very irritating one when i go travelling in cooler countries.

Default Re: shutter speed decays with shutter count?

Likely a weak battery, old batteries after a number of years of usage will not hold sufficient charge to fire off in top burst, and will also shut down in cold weather. Test that with a buddy's new battery and see if this is the case.

Unlikely to be due to camera shutter.

Quote Originally Posted by chan0458 View Post
    Hi, i have been using a Nikon D80 for nearly 3 years now, the shutter count is nearing 80,000. Is there something wrong with my camera if it canīt take 3 frames per second when it ages or should i just bring it down to the service centre? also, it canīt start in cold weather, not a problem in singapore but a very irritating one when i go travelling in cooler countries.
    can i ask how you determined that your camera cannot achieve 3 fps?

Quote Originally Posted by chan0458 View Post
    You mean, after 3 years has passed, you are worried that the fps would reduce, from 3 fps to 1 fps? And it couldn't stand against cold temperature anymore ?
    NIKON D90 (2008-2010), D700 (2010-2012), D800 (2012-2014), DF (Dec 2013-Sep 2017)

Quote Originally Posted by jeff7id View Post
    You mean, after 3 years has passed, you are worried that the fps would reduce, from 3 fps to 1 fps? And it couldn't stand against cold temperature anymore ?
    Jia lat liao, my PSP Slim now 3rd years liao, the game will run slower too .... Just kidding.

Quote Originally Posted by night86mare View Post