Thread: Pop-up flash or speedlite ?

Default Pop-up flash or speedlite ?

Hi guys..
    I'm new to this photography thing and recently got myself a 7D and the 15-85mm kit lens.
    I find that sometimes i am unable to take gd shots under low light condition and was thinking about getting a flashgun for such purpose.
    Using the on board pop up flash seems to give me undesirable pics that are quite unnatural.
    Than i found out about pop up flash diffuser.
    Should i save $$ and get the diffuser or just go for a 580 ex II ??
    As I'm in HK, it should be cheaper to get the flashgun here compared to sg and i will be flying back soon...

Should I just get the flashgun and slowly learn more about this hobby and how to utilize my equipment ?
    I would like to learn taking product shots and some fashion stuff..
    Perhaps for selling stuff online...

Please advise..

Default Re: Pop-up flash or speedlite ?

Quote Originally Posted by photocal View Post

Should i save $$ and get the diffuser or just go for a 580 ex II ??

Please advise..
    You mean save up for a 580EXII right? cos the pop-up flash diffuser only cost about S$10. I would get the flash if i were you, the pop-up is simply too weak, especially with a diffuser attached.

well i was just considering if i should spend another couple of hundreds for a flash...
    Thats the issue for me here....Wonder if it will get me alot more better shots and pics...
    Also need alot of guidance from the pros here...

it is inevitable that you will need a flash soon and since you are in HK, it should be cheaper to get it over there. The pop up flash is not strong enough. For close range it is still ok.

I think it depends on how far you want to go into this passion of yours. Getting a flash does not equate a better photo outcome. But rather you still need to have the correct setting. More variation for you to try out with the flash too.

In my opinion, just get it . . .