Thread: Gray or 2nd hand?

Default Gray or 2nd hand?

Hi guys, i wish to ask several questions regarding gray set. As a newbie, i'm also quite afraid of buying 2nd hand lenses and dunno much about gray set.
    From what i know, gray set, e.g Tamron, doesn't cover any international warranty right? Maybe only shop warranty if there is, but normally shop do not cover calibration?

So in this case, can it be said to be like buying 2nd hand lenses with expired warranty except that it's new?
    If receipt had been provided, will it helps if i bring the receipt down to e.g JEL (Tamron) to ask for any cost covered for calibration etc?
    And lastly, what is the difference between Tamron warranty card with and without international warranty (i've never seen one before) and is there any other things to take note of when buying gray set other than the usual lens inspection?

Blog Entries

Default Re: Gray or 2nd hand?

Quote Originally Posted by ch4ngs7er View Post
    Hi guys, i wish to ask several questions regarding gray set. As a newbie, i'm also quite afraid of buying 2nd hand lenses and dunno much about gray set.
    From what i know, gray set, e.g Tamron, doesn't cover any international warranty right? Maybe only shop warranty if there is, but normally shop do not cover calibration?

So in this case, can it be said to be like buying 2nd hand lenses with expired warranty except that it's new?
    If receipt had been provided, will it helps if i bring the receipt down to e.g JEL (Tamron) to ask for any cost covered for calibration etc?
    And lastly, what is the difference between Tamron warranty card with and without international warranty (i've never seen one before) and is there any other things to take note of when buying gray set other than the usual lens inspection?