Thread: Need advise for filters and equipments

Default Need advise for filters and equipments

Hi guys, I will like to hear from your advise:

I am a happy owner of Canon 550D + Tamron 17-50mm f2.8VC.
    Below are my current equipments:
    1) Canon 550D
    2) Tamron 17-50mm f2.8VC
    3) canon 18-135mm
    4) canon 50mm f1.8
    5) Sirui Tripod T2204x
    6) Cokin P-series filter holder
    7) TianYa GND

I am quite new to photography as i had only purchase my camera somewhere in July.
    Till date, most of the photos taken were scenic and landscape during holiday(building and beaches). Occasional outing shot of spouse during family outing. Kindly be patient with me,

Landscape & Scenic:
    Filter Qns:
    1) Is there really a need for CPL? If so which is prefer, Circular or square slot in type?
    2) Is TianYa ND filter of ND 4 and ND 8 good enough as a start out?

Lens Qns:
    Wide angle Lens
    1) Is Wide angle len a prefer choice over current 17-50mm + stitching in photoshop?
    2) Does stitching has any shortcoming? (no problem till date)

Telephoto Lens
    1) How often does anyone uses telephone lens, during the above mention events or travel? Cropping had been greatly utilised due to the short reach of kit lens 18-135mm.

2) looking at 70-200mm f4IS and sigma 70-300mm macro = quality vs value for money. Does anyone has any experience on the above mention lens?

To summarize, I am considering between which items mention has the highest priority for mainly outdoor usage.

Wide angle len, telephoto lens, filter(ND / CPL) and Flash.

Will appreciate if some kind soul will be able to advise, as I will be traveling to Hong kong again soon. Hence, will like to take this opportunity to purchase the require items.
    Canon

Default Re: Need advise for filters and equipments

Landscape & Scenic:
    Filter Qns:
    1) Is there really a need for CPL? If so which is prefer, Circular or square slot in type?