Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: IR focus assist

  1. #1
    Member eosandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Land of smiles
    Posts
    842

    Default IR focus assist

    Do you guys know of any off-cam and off-flash solutions to focus assist lamps?

    I'm looking to take some photos in a dance hall where the lighting is so poor, a 50 1.4 hunts.

    I have considered a split focus screen and manual focus, but this is a bit hit/miss.

    Anyone modified an LED torch with IR led's with any success? Thinking of strapping one to the bottom of my cam to allow me to point the beam in the right direction, and control when it's used. May also need a mask over the torch lens to give contrast across the beam to allow the AF to work... punting a few ideas here that need development.
    Learning DSLR control http://stormtrigger.blogspot.com/

  2. #2
    Deregistered allenleonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3,656
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    Quote Originally Posted by eosandy View Post
    Do you guys know of any off-cam and off-flash solutions to focus assist lamps?

    I'm looking to take some photos in a dance hall where the lighting is so poor, a 50 1.4 hunts.

    I have considered a split focus screen and manual focus, but this is a bit hit/miss.

    Anyone modified an LED torch with IR led's with any success? Thinking of strapping one to the bottom of my cam to allow me to point the beam in the right direction, and control when it's used. May also need a mask over the torch lens to give contrast across the beam to allow the AF to work... punting a few ideas here that need development.
    i dunno... i know that my canon flash allows me have the assist hope it helps

  3. #3
    Member eosandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Land of smiles
    Posts
    842

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    Quote Originally Posted by allenleonhart View Post
    i dunno... i know that my canon flash allows me have the assist hope it helps
    Thanks. My Speedlights are mounted off-camera at various locations around the hall, so I lose the ability to use their focus assist beams.

    Do you know if an ST-E2 can be mounted on a 7D with the intention to use it as a focus assist item only? I have the ST-E2 but it's redundent due to 7D ability to control flashes off-cam.
    Learning DSLR control http://stormtrigger.blogspot.com/

  4. #4
    Deregistered allenleonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3,656
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    Quote Originally Posted by eosandy View Post
    Thanks. My Speedlights are mounted off-camera at various locations around the hall, so I lose the ability to use their focus assist beams.

    Do you know if an ST-E2 can be mounted on a 7D with the intention to use it as a focus assist item only? I have the ST-E2 but it's redundent due to 7D ability to control flashes off-cam.
    not too sure... i'm using a 580ex... never had to do that. sorry!

    but i think u can use the focusing screen method. splitscreen is useful, especialyl if ur on FTM

  5. #5

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    The dancers dont mind you shining a red AF assist beam at them? I guess its better to manual focus.

  6. #6
    Member eosandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Land of smiles
    Posts
    842

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    Quote Originally Posted by liveevil View Post
    The dancers dont mind you shining a red AF assist beam at them? I guess its better to manual focus.
    Naa, the dancers won't mind as it's what I'm there to do. Besides it won't be for the whole night!
    Learning DSLR control http://stormtrigger.blogspot.com/

  7. #7
    Deregistered allenleonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3,656
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    Quote Originally Posted by eosandy View Post
    Naa, the dancers won't mind as it's what I'm there to do. Besides it won't be for the whole night!
    ur using canon right? why not use 1 580+ ur other minions?

    and then use the 580 as ur af focus beam

  8. #8
    Member eosandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Land of smiles
    Posts
    842

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    Quote Originally Posted by allenleonhart View Post
    ur using canon right? why not use 1 580+ ur other minions?

    and then use the 580 as ur af focus beam
    I rather have my 580 off cam. Yip, get what you mean though!
    Learning DSLR control http://stormtrigger.blogspot.com/

  9. #9

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    Your 7D build-in flash has focus assist beam. Why not use it?

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    New York, Singapore
    Posts
    1,513

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    yes the ST-E2 can be used as only a focus assist. it's way more unobtrusive than the strobing effect from the built-in flash AF assist
    www.colouredshots.com
    Kodak film disposable camera

  11. #11

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    Quote Originally Posted by antacid View Post
    yes the ST-E2 can be used as only a focus assist. it's way more unobtrusive than the strobing effect from the built-in flash AF assist
    Very true too. The white flashes are more distracting.

  12. #12
    Member eosandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Land of smiles
    Posts
    842

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    Quote Originally Posted by antacid View Post
    yes the ST-E2 can be used as only a focus assist. it's way more unobtrusive than the strobing effect from the built-in flash AF assist
    That's what I thought. Now the question really is, do I then use the flash commander capabilities of the ST-E2, or can the 7D commander still be used, even though the STE2 in on the hotshoe?
    Learning DSLR control http://stormtrigger.blogspot.com/

  13. #13
    Deregistered allenleonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3,656
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: IR focus assist

    Quote Originally Posted by eosandy View Post
    That's what I thought. Now the question really is, do I then use the flash commander capabilities of the ST-E2, or can the 7D commander still be used, even though the STE2 in on the hotshoe?
    use the STE2 as commander? i dnno. maybe both use the same time? i also dunno

    but since u have the kit, why dun u try out i think its also faster that way hahahaha

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •