Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: how to take macro shots?

  1. #1

    Default how to take macro shots?

    i'm using canon a40... got the +4 hoya filter thingy...
    how do i go about taking macro shots? tips techniques ?
    much appreciated for all the help

  2. #2
    Moderator ziploc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Snoopyland
    Posts
    4,577

    Default

    Attach the closeup filter to your camera. Set your camera to macro mode (the flower symbol). Then just position your camera close to your subject and shoot... simple as that.

    If you wish to control the DOF, set your camera to aperture priority mode (Av mode), and select the f-stop you want.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    318

    Default

    In macro mode, zoom to max. Else if flash is used, you'll get a shadow on the bottom right (caused by lens adapter).

    Use highest resolution 1600x1200.

    Even with +4 filter on, your macro focusing is still 16cm. But your object will be magnified.


  4. #4

    Default

    16cm... so less than 16cm the picture will look blur cos cannot focus right?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    North East of SG
    Posts
    704

    Default

    Originally posted by blizzy
    16cm... so less than 16cm the picture will look blur cos cannot focus right?
    yup, that's right...
    how's your A40 going?

  6. #6

    Default

    a lot harder to focus than i thought
    hahahaa.....
    always come out overexposed... or underexposed... keep playing around with the compensation.....

    still trying to figure out shutter speed... manual too tough
    so been using P mode mostly.....

    was a lot easier using my old nikon f-50 camera... hehe... point and let it auto focus for me

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    North East of SG
    Posts
    704

    Default

    Originally posted by blizzy
    a lot harder to focus than i thought
    hahahaa.....
    always come out overexposed... or underexposed... keep playing around with the compensation.....

    still trying to figure out shutter speed... manual too tough
    so been using P mode mostly.....

    was a lot easier using my old nikon f-50 camera... hehe... point and let it auto focus for me
    hahaha.... I prefer using M mode....haven't tried P mode...
    is P mode good?

  8. #8

    Default

    i dunno much abt using shutters and setting the aperture... so i use p mode... pretty much just setting compensation for exposure... too bright too dark just adjust compensation

    oh... wat iso to use? default seems to be 50... that seems low?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    North East of SG
    Posts
    704

    Default

    Originally posted by blizzy
    i dunno much abt using shutters and setting the aperture... so i use p mode... pretty much just setting compensation for exposure... too bright too dark just adjust compensation

    oh... wat iso to use? default seems to be 50... that seems low?
    the higher the iso, the more light enters...
    so depending on the lightings...

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    Originally posted by lefei

    the higher the iso, the more light enters...
    so depending on the lightings...
    actually no. the higher the ISO, the more sensitive the film is to light (or more gain is applied to the light captured for digital photography) and lesser the amount of light required.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  11. #11

    Default

    Originally posted by ziploc

    If you wish to control the DOF, set your camera to aperture priority mode (Av mode), and select the f-stop you want.
    Correction! A40 no aperture priority mode

  12. #12

    Default

    erm... macro shot on a40 must use flash? i tried off flash cos the picture come out so..... bright... i off flash the lcd go off... why huh? then how? adjust shutter speed/aperture so less bright?


    oh...
    and i noticed on some of my pics...
    the bottom right corner got like dark dark... its vignetting right?
    i was using the +4 filter. what do i do?
    Last edited by blizzy; 27th May 2002 at 09:59 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •