ClubSNAP Photography Forums

Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight


 
Thread Tools
Old 26th May 2004   #1
nickmak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,366
Default EOS 1D MKII for S$1850???!!!!

Hey, check this link: http://www.ebay.com.sg/viItem?ItemId=4170639999 ...

This is from ebay s'pore... and at S$1850??? The strange thing is that the pix shows the 1D but specs is the 1DMKII... hmmm... anybody?
__________________
The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.
nickmak is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #2
shutterfly
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 473
Default

It is ok even if it is 1D.
shutterfly is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #3
nickmak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,366
Default

Originally Posted by shutterfly
It is ok even if it is 1D.
true true... think we should bid?
__________________
The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.
nickmak is offline  
Sponsored Link
Old 26th May 2004   #4
Altezza
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bukit Timah
Posts: 261
Default

From a Zero feedback seller? Sounds like a scam to me......
Altezza is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #5
benny
Member
 
benny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Clementi
Posts: 1,714
Default

If it's too good to be true.......it usually is!

Cheers,
benny is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #6
loupgarou
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,794
Default

probably scam, so you better meet up FACE TO FACE and don't paypal cash
loupgarou is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #7
nickmak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,366
Default

is this a common thing in ebay? I'm just looking through it through curiousity? any advice about ebay? Anyway, if this is true this would be a crazy thing ain't it?
__________________
The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.
nickmak is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #8
West_ray
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,149
Default

its say payment via bank wire transfer lehz ... so u better demand for a meet up.
West_ray is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #9
nickmak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,366
Default

Could this set be stolen and then sold off at a cheap price like this?
__________________
The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.
nickmak is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #10
Terence
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: I'm a Llama!
Posts: 4,716
Default

Since I'm in the market for a 1D2, maybe I'd try bidding and see if it's true. Watch this space for details.
Terence is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #11
RemAcuTetigisti
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 189
Default

Caveat emptor...

Read about online scams. Greed is not a good thing to have but if you have to learn the hard way, good for ya.
RemAcuTetigisti is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #12
Terence
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: I'm a Llama!
Posts: 4,716
Default

Originally Posted by RemAcuTetigisti
Caveat emptor...

Read about online scams. Greed is not a good thing to have but if you have to learn the hard way, good for ya.
Hey buddy, I'm not looking to get scammed. Been with ebay for almost 5 years and I've seen it all. I did my homework by emailing this fella... this is the reply I got. Sure sounds like a scam, watch it guys.

"Hi,

I'm a customs broker also sell the confiscated goods.
Canon - EOS 1D Mark II. This camera completely new, sealed in original box with manufacturer warranty (12 months). I can sell a camera to you for US $ 1240 right now (including shipment and insurance). The camera will be sent to you after your payment! I accept payment only by bank wire transfer. Delivery by service FedEx during 3-4 days from Kiev, Ukraine.

Thanks,
Miroslava.
lowpricos@hotmail.com"
Terence is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #13
justarius
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Western side of Singapore
Posts: 1,163
Default

Ukraine? Bank wire transfer only?
Get ready to kiss your money goodbye if you deal. You might be better off buying oilfields from those Nigerian businessmen. People who were even seriously considering this deal should wake up to one of the realities of life: There ain't no free lunch!

Last edited by justarius; 27th May 2004 at 03:41 AM. Reason: grammar...:D
justarius is offline  
Old 26th May 2004   #14
wilis128
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default



dont get conned!!... even if he promise to send you the goods first, and provide you wth the tracking numbers before payment... it is an empty package inside...
wilis128 is offline  
Old 27th May 2004   #15
sriram
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,274
Default

Bwahahahaha... yet another ebay scam artist. Come on guys, how can anyone fall for this rubbish? It should be blatantly obvious. If you send him your money you WILL NOT get anything back, you can be guaranteed of that, so don't even bother. We're seeing a large number of scams from eastern European countries these days, specially from Romania.

Last edited by sriram; 27th May 2004 at 11:18 AM.
sriram is offline  
Old 27th May 2004   #16
jbma
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tampines
Posts: 3,315
Default

It's as good as a Nigerian "Minister" offering me US 10 million in commission if I were to send him "just" $10,000 to "clear some paperwork". Yeah right! I told him that I am honoured that he choses me among all the inhabitant of the earth. I told him that 10 million is too much. I just want one million so I will send him US$1 for it. Never got a reply from him after that.
jbma is offline  
Old 27th May 2004   #17
mpenza
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 13,397
Default

Originally Posted by wilis128


dont get conned!!... even if he promise to send you the goods first, and provide you wth the tracking numbers before payment... it is an empty package inside...
there're also people who set up bogus websites for tracking shipment.
mpenza is offline  
Old 27th May 2004   #18
drebel
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 183
Default

Originally Posted by mpenza
there're also people who set up bogus websites for tracking shipment.
i wont be surprised when we already have people phising (sp) those banks' websites
drebel is offline  
Old 27th May 2004   #19
auron
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 84
Default

No more in ebay.

The specified item could not be found in our database. Please check the item ID or try a different item.

next time say u offer to pay him double if he can shipped the item to you first.
auron is offline  
Old 27th May 2004   #20
airnosaj
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 121
Default

Just adding on to some advices from ebay, I was one of those that got conned too . There was this time some years back, I paid a few hundred dollars for three Michael Jordan Autographs (yeah I was young, reckless and spendthrift) to a Canadian guy. We had some email conversations on ordering, payment, shipping and stuffs. This fella also had about 5 positive feedbacks, just 1 negative. So I figured, not too bad. One problem is that he only accepts bank orders. Pretty suspicious tho , but hey...what the heck!! I went ahead anyway. After winning the bid, I went to change a few hundred dollars and paid the man...he never replied after that . Sent him tons of emails for months and got nothing back. I went to check his feedback again and found that that he was scamming some fellas at one time as well. Suddenly, from 5 positive feedbacks, he went to -2, imagine that . So from now on, I only buy from those with about a few hundred to a few thousand positive feedback. These guys are more genuine . Yeah sometimes you learn from mistakes, but hope you guys will learn from mine and not get burnt
airnosaj is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2002 - 2009 ClubSNAP.com
Page generated in 0.14077 seconds with 7 queries