Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 35 of 35

Thread: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

  1. #21
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,901

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    Non Canon specific discussion, thread moved.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  2. #22

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    I was thinking whether a 100-400 L or a 70-200 f2.8 IS L to rent for this F1 coming up. Judging from the pictures, I guess lighting is not a problem, so maybe i shall rent a 100-400 L with Tele converter.
    Think fast, aim for the best !

  3. #23
    Member enzeru21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    upper thomson
    Posts
    1,494

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by hanracing View Post
    no,i mean at the pratice day or the qualify day.On the race day of course we cannot enter the pit area
    i don't think they will allow you into the pit area... even if its Qualifying..
    enzeru21 Canon 500D |Tamron17-50mm f/2.8| Sigma30mm f/1.4 | 580EX II
    mylightedreams

  4. #24

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Odyssey-Boy View Post
    I was thinking whether a 100-400 L or a 70-200 f2.8 IS L to rent for this F1 coming up. Judging from the pictures, I guess lighting is not a problem, so maybe i shall rent a 100-400 L with Tele converter.
    i thought with teleconverter it wont work. cos the 100-400 is already f4.5 to f5.6. no matter what teleconverter u add, it will make the aperture beyond f5.6, thus if u have a non-1D camera, u wont be able to AF
    Canon 550D|15-85|100L|430EX II|Flickr

  5. #25

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by litlefiter View Post
    i thought with teleconverter it wont work. cos the 100-400 is already f4.5 to f5.6. no matter what teleconverter u add, it will make the aperture beyond f5.6, thus if u have a non-1D camera, u wont be able to AF
    oh yap, i forgot.. but i guess without the teleconverter, the range is still good enough for the cars..

    i will also borrow a 10-22 to capture the people and the scenes..
    Think fast, aim for the best !

  6. #26
    Member dingaroo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore | East
    Posts
    1,950

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    Seriously, I'd rather shoot at Sepang's race. There is a spot that I could shoot where the cars would slow down before turning into the straights.

    Much better, open space, and no lighting worries.
    A picture a day keeps the blues away!

  7. #27

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by dingaroo View Post
    Seriously, I'd rather shoot at Sepang's race. There is a spot that I could shoot where the cars would slow down before turning into the straights.

    Much better, open space, and no lighting worries.
    problem is not everyone have the time to travel up to sepang to watch the race.

    last dec, i followed my friend, towed up our cars to sepang, and took a plane to KL.

    feeling was shiok to race.

    i did travel to sepang by bus too, horrible, backside like mad..
    Think fast, aim for the best !

  8. #28
    Member dingaroo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore | East
    Posts
    1,950

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Odyssey-Boy View Post
    oh yap, i forgot.. but i guess without the teleconverter, the range is still good enough for the cars..

    i will also borrow a 10-22 to capture the people and the scenes..
    From past stories of Singapore's run of the F1 Grand Prix, I heard even the 70-200 lens is hard to pass through security, and you have to sign a form to ensure you don't use the photos commercially.

    So check with the security before you enter next week.
    A picture a day keeps the blues away!

  9. #29

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    I thought somewhere on the ticket it says the limits for photographic gear that is allowed in.
    Rumor was that anything less than 300mm was allowed in. I shot with a 70-200 F4. Probably depends on the mood of the guard and the attitude of the spectator.
    Tyrov
    Flickr

  10. #30

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by dingaroo View Post
    From past stories of Singapore's run of the F1 Grand Prix, I heard even the 70-200 lens is hard to pass through security, and you have to sign a form to ensure you don't use the photos commercially.

    So check with the security before you enter next week.
    last year, i carry a backpack in, without them checking..
    Think fast, aim for the best !

  11. #31
    Moderator ed9119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,943
    Blog Entries
    26

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    the barriers, lights and 'wires' are all up already.......... I'm surprised nobody even mentioned going down this weekend or next week when they turn the lights on at night to GO DAYS BEFORE THE practice , qualifying and race day and scout for good positions , angles and perspectives
    Last edited by ed9119; 17th September 2010 at 11:21 PM.
    shaddap and just shoot .... up close
    Walkeast

  12. #32
    Member axis90x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    In your dreams
    Posts
    1,385

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    i go there to enjoy not to take pictures
    coz i know i cant get anything :P
    Moments

  13. #33

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    I notice that in the F1 EVENT FAQs for 2010: clause 16

    Quote"
    16. Are there any rules to adhere to in the grandstands?
    To ensure that everyone has a great time at the race, there are several rules grandstand
    spectators need to follow.
    .....
    o Collapsible strollers are allowed but may not be used in the Grandstands or on the
    bleachers. Any photographic equipment (such as tripods and monopods) for personal
    non-commercial is not allowed in the grandstands.
    ....
    Ushers and security staff will be stationed at the grandstands to ensure that these rules are adhered to in order for everyone to have an enjoyable experience. We seek your kind cooperation to abide by their instructions. "


    So can monopod be used in ALL Grandstand areas?

  14. #34

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    so the consensus is walkabout ticket can see take almost no photos?

  15. #35

    Default Re: Shooting F1 pics thru 'chicken wire' - how do you do it?

    I managed to get up close and personal with the fence. I think I'll pass; spend the money on beer and watch the race on TV

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •