Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 22nd May 2004   #1
glennyong

Post a decision to make......pls help guys..

I am having a fustration now.. like all converters from Flim to DSLR.. i was wondering.. which is better ? a D70 or a D100 ? i know theres a lot of talking and discussion on the D70 and D100... pple like to compare these 2 cameras, however i am tied down to a $2500 ++ budget and have already owned Af lenses from my buddy F90x..

Read lots and tones of reviews, it seems like the D70 is rather attractive, but then i read further into the measurements of the body etc.. i found that the body of D70 is smaller ? and the D100 is bigger.. and what attracts me is its Battery Pack MB-D100... whereaes.. the D70 doesnt have this Battery pack.. and a smaller body would also mean that grip will not be able to allow all the fingers onto the body, esp pple like me who got bigger hands...

and i also realised that in Dpireview, they said somethings bout the Cons and Pros of D70 and D100, and D100 have some serious cons, and D70 too... so i was thinking of asking for your opinions esp from D100 and D70 users... I usually take Portrait and Landscape.. and now the MAIN ISSUE which is soooooo irritating would be.. Between a D100 and D70.. which one to get ?
Old 22nd May 2004   #2
justarius

if the battery grip is the make or break issue, than go for the d100. otherwise, go for the d70.

main idea is that both cameras are capable of turning out wonderful pictures, so it doesn't really matter either way.
Old 22nd May 2004   #3
Witness

hmmm.....nikon DSLR consumer range still not strong...take a seat next to me...and wait hahaha..
Sponsored Link
Old 22nd May 2004   #4
Jayson

Go to the shop and try out the feel of the D70, I find the grip rather big compared to the lower end nikons. (F55 etc). Technolodgy wise the D70 is 2 yrs ahead of the D100 and that's alot of tech difference.

Of course if you REALLY REALLY need the grip get the D100. Or wait and see if they have a grip for the D70.
Old 22nd May 2004   #5
glennyong

but then.. in all you guys opinion.. is that grip THAT impt ? cuz it gives me a rather "d2 , d1" feeling.. hahaha... thats y..... but in the end.. is the grip impt ?
Old 22nd May 2004   #6
justarius

if i were you, i would go for the d70. my hands ain't that big to need a grip to hold the camera properly, and the vertical shutter release isn't that a big a draw for me.

in the end however, it's not about us but about you. Only you can say if the grip is important, cos we don't use the camera you eventually buy, you do.
Old 22nd May 2004   #7
glennyong

thats y ... i do not know if its important.. yar... maybe in that case, i might be going to settle for the D70, anyway.. i heard about the Battery problem like cameras like D70 and D100 cannot support lenses with VR ? like they drain the battery like water ?? i seen this somewhere... so if i buy the D70. can still use the VR lenses ??
Old 22nd May 2004   #8
sfhuang

of course you can use VR lenses with D70/D100 or for that matter S2 pro. Battery problem is not a problem unless you make it a problem. Just get extra batts.
Old 22nd May 2004   #9
sfhuang

Originally Posted by justarius
in the end however, it's not about us but about you. Only you can say if the grip is important, cos we don't use the camera you eventually buy, you do.
exactly. Ask yourself what you want that camera for? If the grip or whatever feature is that important for that eventual application you're going to put the camera to (whatever it is - pro/semi-pro or just for fun use), just get the D100. Problem solved.
Old 22nd May 2004   #10
justarius

Originally Posted by glennyong
thats y ... i do not know if its important.. yar... maybe in that case, i might be going to settle for the D70, anyway.. i heard about the Battery problem like cameras like D70 and D100 cannot support lenses with VR ? like they drain the battery like water ?? i seen this somewhere... so if i buy the D70. can still use the VR lenses ??
where have you heard this? rumor mongers who spread lies like this should be shot.

D70 of course can use VR lenses. A test conducted somewhere on the nikonians forum (www.nikonians.com) show that there isn't a substantial decrease in battery life with use of VR (there's a slight decrease, but it doesn't drain the battery like water). Most probably the people who tried didn't condition their battery properly and placed blame on everything but themselves.
Old 22nd May 2004   #11
clive

d70 dont have grip.

if i were u i will take something wif grip => d100.

cheers!
Old 22nd May 2004   #12
glennyong

yar.. thats what i think too.. ahahha... but in terms to technology.. it seems like the D70 is sooo improved... not say better den D100, but at least i think its abit ABIT ABIT sedikit (little) <-- malay word. improvements. i think the grip if not so important after all.. its the features that attracts so many users to the camera rite ??? ahaha
Old 23rd May 2004   #13
Luval

yar.. thats what i think too.. ahahha... but in terms to technology.. it seems like the D70 is sooo improved... not say better den D100, but at least i think its abit ABIT ABIT sedikit (little) <-- malay word. improvements. i think the grip if not so important after all.. its the features that attracts so many users to the camera rite ??? ahaha
i will definetly stay with my D100. the feel is important to my when i am holding to a cam... it may not make much of a different between polycarbo and magnes... but the weight between the both will tell the diff.. nect is the focus speed.. actually ... no diff.. both is on cam 900... so unless you are on a F5 or a D2H.. then it will speak vol and speed
Old 23rd May 2004   #14
Weird Guy

I have both cameras....D70 is better.The white balancing of D70 is very ZUN (Hokkien).For D100 U need to custom set white balancing for certain lighting....wasting time.
D100 is more for for rough use .( alloy body frame )
En-EL3 can allow me to take around 235 shots on my D70.So I dont need the battery pack.
Take times to get use to it on small camera body can liao lah.
To me feautres are more important than the size.
One thing for sure..Is the man behind the camera...
Mai huan lo...D70 can liao

Last edited by Weird Guy; 29th May 2004 at 10:55 PM.
Old 23rd May 2004   #15
glennyong

ooooooooooooooooooooooooo HHAHAHAHHA !!!! thats more like a advice !! ahhahaahahha ... YA !! thats wad i am looking for.. someone to brainwash me to tell me that the MB-D100 is not impt at all..... doh ! at last someone understands my main point !! ok !! D70 !! WO LAI LO !!! WA-Ha-ha.. dun run... hahahahaa...
Old 23rd May 2004   #16
Weird Guy

ooooooooooooooooooooooooo HHAHAHAHHA !!!! thats more like a advice !! ahhahaahahha ... YA !! thats wad i am looking for.. someone to brainwash me to tell me that the MB-D100 is not impt at all..... doh ! at last someone understands my main point !! ok !! D70 !! WO LAI LO !!! WA-Ha-ha.. dun run... hahahahaa...
Ka Kin buay D70 lah..Mai TU Liao
whahahaha
Old 23rd May 2004   #17
majere2sg

I find the vertical grip useful because I seem to take vertical shots alot more.. heee
Old 23rd May 2004   #18
glennyong

yar... it cures the photgrapher's disease called "Horizontalites Syndrome" where all your photos are horizontal.. hahhahaha...... but the vertical grip makes u a "Verticalites Sydrome" victim... hahaha... Kidding !! sayin for fun.. but ... ahh..aahaha i dunno manz.. neutral bout the grip thingy already...
Closed Thread