Thread: looking for a new digital camera

Default looking for a new digital camera

Hi, I'm new to digital camera and would like to buy one soon for my holiday trip. Looking for 3.2 megapixel, pocket sized, compact camera with a reasonably good video clip function. Budget $600-650. Should be user friendly for 1st timer like me.

I've narrowed down to the following choices :

1. Nikon Coolpix 3700
    2. Panasonic DMC-FX1
    3. Panasonic DMC-LC50
    4. Sony DSC-P8
    5. Sony DSC-P72
    6. Canon IXUS i
    7. Canon IXUS IIs

Any recommendations?
    Thanks.
    Regards.
    Cetaphil

what about the canon A80?? its not exactly pocket size... but you might want to consider it as its good enough for most situations IMO...

Blog Entries

yup, either the A80 or A75 would be good and fits ur budget too. a slightly cheaper, but no less feature pack would be the Canon A70. just recommended a fren of mine to get this for his alaskan holiday in jun. right now, he and his wife are happily snapping away to get used to the camera.
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

Quote Originally Posted by cetaphil
    Hi, I'm new to digital camera and would like to buy one soon for my holiday trip. Looking for 3.2 megapixel, pocket sized, compact camera with a reasonably good video clip function. Budget $600-650. Should be user friendly for 1st timer like me.

I've narrowed down to the following choices :

1. Nikon Coolpix 3700
    2. Panasonic DMC-FX1
    3. Panasonic DMC-LC50
    4. Sony DSC-P8
    5. Sony DSC-P72
    6. Canon IXUS i
    7. Canon IXUS IIs

Any recommendations?
    Thanks.
    Regards.
    Cetaphil

IXUSi!!! d coolest cam i ever had...4mp for only ard $580++ w' a 32mb SD card...price had dropped.. so small n compact dat u can fit in anywhere... although ALOT of ppl may darn at its 5.7 digital zoom only(no optical) bt so far all my shots usin the full zoom had came out nice n sharp..