Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Sensor cleaning

  1. #1

    Default Sensor cleaning

    i am sure everyone here who owns a camera will use the sensor cleaning function.
    That is assuming your camera has this function.

    Under sensor cleaning, there is auto cleaning, clean now and clean manually.

    during my free time, i will do a "clean now" on my camera, despite my camera already set to "auto cleaning".

    The question is i a bit kiasu, within 1 or 2 mins, i clean using that function for about 10 to 15 times, hoping it will be cleaner, any impact?

    or should i clean once enough for every clean?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Clementi
    Posts
    351

    Default Re: Sensor cleaning

    Quote Originally Posted by takengo2003 View Post
    i am sure everyone here who owns a camera will use the sensor cleaning function.
    That is assuming your camera has this function.

    Under sensor cleaning, there is auto cleaning, clean now and clean manually.

    during my free time, i will do a "clean now" on my camera, despite my camera already set to "auto cleaning".

    The question is i a bit kiasu, within 1 or 2 mins, i clean using that function for about 10 to 15 times, hoping it will be cleaner, any impact?

    or should i clean once enough for every clean?
    you dont actually have to clean it that often....

  3. #3
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Sensor cleaning

    Quote Originally Posted by takengo2003 View Post
    i am sure everyone here who owns a camera will use the sensor cleaning function.
    That is assuming your camera has this function.

    Under sensor cleaning, there is auto cleaning, clean now and clean manually.

    during my free time, i will do a "clean now" on my camera, despite my camera already set to "auto cleaning".

    The question is i a bit kiasu, within 1 or 2 mins, i clean using that function for about 10 to 15 times, hoping it will be cleaner, any impact?

    or should i clean once enough for every clean?
    Don't think it will matter that much, if you keep cleaning it.

    Some dirt will not come off with sensor cleaning. You will need to use a blower on the sensor. Some dirt even blower cannot remove. Then bring it down to SC to get it cleaned.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Sensor cleaning

    Quote Originally Posted by alphabeta93 View Post
    you dont actually have to clean it that often....
    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Don't think it will matter that much, if you keep cleaning it.

    Some dirt will not come off with sensor cleaning. You will need to use a blower on the sensor. Some dirt even blower cannot remove. Then bring it down to SC to get it cleaned.
    Agree with the bros, what happen to those cameras without the sensor clean functions?

    Do you know this function only come out ~2 years ago?

  5. #5
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Sensor cleaning

    Quote Originally Posted by horizon_grazer View Post
    Agree with the bros, what happen to those cameras without the sensor clean functions?

    Do you know this function only come out ~2 years ago?
    no sensor clean function...lift the mirror every 2 mins and blow....
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    741

    Default Re: Sensor cleaning

    If you turn on auto cleaning, the camera should do the sensor cleaning by shaking the sensor when you turn on/off the camera. Clean now is the same as auto clean, just manually activating auto cleaning, if you get what I am trying to say.

    Manual cleaning will flip mirror up to allow you to blow, brush or swab the sensor, depending on method you prefer.

    There is no need to do the "clean now" function if you have auto on. If there is no dust spot on the sensor, you can clean it a thousand times and it will not make any difference. For dust spot that do now disappear after doing clean now for 2 or 3 times, chances are, you need to do manual cleaning.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    East Side
    Posts
    571

    Default Re: Sensor cleaning

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Some dirt will not come off with sensor cleaning. You will need to use a blower on the sensor. Some dirt even blower cannot remove. Then bring it down to SC to get it cleaned.
    Quote Originally Posted by ovaltinemilo View Post
    no sensor clean function...lift the mirror every 2 mins and blow....
    agree..
    my camera gt few dust inside but cant get it clean even i used sensor cleaning few times.
    blower will do just fine.

  8. #8
    Member enzeru21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    upper thomson
    Posts
    1,494

    Default Re: Sensor cleaning

    don't need to be so kan chiong la...

    sensor not all the time exposed to dirt... if you look after properly...

    this one is not a every week clean 3 times a day routine..
    enzeru21 Canon 500D |Tamron17-50mm f/2.8| Sigma30mm f/1.4 | 580EX II
    mylightedreams

  9. #9

    Default Re: Sensor cleaning

    the sensor cleaning function usually involves vibrating the sensor at high frequency in an attempt to "shake" off the dust.

    so yes, repeating it can be effective, but if the sensor is clean, and you vibrate, vibrate, vibrate then there is no use, is there?

    also, as others have mentioned, some dust will not come off with this method - this is either dust which is too large and heavy (therefore removable with the aid of a blower)... or welded dust (dust with moisture). for the latter, you will need wet cleaning methods.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Sensor cleaning

    no need so kiasu la... maybe after every few lens change, use the function 1 or 2 times would be engh...
    Playing with M43.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,700

    Default Re: Sensor cleaning

    kiasu Singaporean . . .

    anyway, no harm using the function since it is there for you to use.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •