Thread: Tripod to recommend?

Default Tripod to recommend?

Hi, i'm pretty new to photography and just got myself a used 40D a month back. Enjoying the camera....

Sorry in advance for asking a silly question. What tripod (brand) should i get? I'm on budget so not those $X000 tripod, looking for somthing reasonable and good both for travel and local usage. Where can i get too?

I saw so many shops but just could not decide which suits my camera.

Default Re: Tripod to recommend?

Quote Originally Posted by wolf73 View Post
    Hi, i'm pretty new to photography and just got myself a used 40D a month back. Enjoying the camera....

Sorry in advance for asking a silly question. What tripod (brand) should i get? I'm on budget so not those $X000 tripod, looking for somthing reasonable and good both for travel and local usage. Where can i get too?

there have been a number of "what tripod should I get?" threads in the Newbies Corner recently, so a search would be the first thing to do.

So your budget is $x00 and not $x000, but what number is the x represent? if it's 6, 7, 8, or 9, you can buy something really nice...
    Exploring! :)

Hey! I'm using a Velbon DF50, bought it at SLR revo for around 60plus or 70 plus. I carry it using a optech tripod strap($38), makes it very light for bringing around. it's strong enough to support my 550d with batt grip and the 70-200 F4IS, just don't extend the(centre column) centre of gravity too high, and you should be okay, for kit lens it's definitely more than adequate.

No need to get those expensive tripod when starting out, learn and master the cam's first, then you can get one that suits your lens setup,, and you won't make a heavy loss selling your 1st one.
    Canon EOS 550D + 18-55IS + 50 F1.8 + 70-200 F4L IS+ 580EXII

If you are not after branded tripods, you may look at Velbon, Vanguard, Benro, Sirui, Manda, Fotopro, Fancier and other brands too.