Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 38 of 38

Thread: Nikon Remote Controller

  1. #21

    Talking Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Hi, i actually bought a wireless one from NSC only to find that you have to be infront of the camera to fire it. Its quite hard to do long exposures.

    So what i did was to go back to NSC 3 days later and exchanged the wireless one for a wired one. With top up of course.. The gentleman manning the sales booth was very nice and helpful.

    Actually you dont need the wireless remote when you're standing in front of the camera as it has a built in timer.

    But end of the day, its a matter of preference...

  2. #22
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    When I first started off, I used to prefer ML-L3 to MC-DC2, that's because I wasn't familiar with the MC-DC2's usage... Now that I'm a little bit more experienced, when I take landscapes, macro or fireworks, it is going to be MC-DC2 all the way... there is no need for me to set the mode to wireless - plug it in and just press the remote controller's button as if it's the camera's shutter release. No need to worry about 15 min expiry when using ML-L3. Making convenience a real factor.

    These days, I'd still bring my ML-L3 along even though I'd be using MC-DC2 all the time. Just in case you want to do a self-portrait or group photo. Timer? No need for timer - when you're ready to shoot - just shoot. Think of it this way, when you do group photo - one joker decides to sneeze, you want to run all the way back to set the timer again? LOLz

    Plus ML-L3 is really small...so small it could get lost in your pocket among the coins and keys!
    Last edited by kriegsketten; 19th August 2010 at 03:37 PM.
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sembawang
    Posts
    1,479

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by Kopred View Post
    Hi all,
    Need some advise. Advance thanks for the info!
    Was looking for remote controller for my D90. Came across 2, Wired and Wireless.
    But somehow the Wireless controller($18) is cheaper than the Wired controller ($33), which is strange to me.
    Perhaps the Wired (MC-DC2) is better than the Wireless (ML-L3)?

    MC-DC2: http://www.nikon.com.sg/productitem....287-1c0bd461f3
    ML-L3: http://www.nikon.com.sg/productitem....011-5e393cb0a2
    TS, FYI, I got the ML-L3 from SLRR at Funan for $15 or $14...

    Basic remote with one button that all..

  4. #24
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by scramblur11 View Post
    TS, FYI, I got the ML-L3 from SLRR at Funan for $15 or $14...

    Basic remote with one button that all..
    Original Nikon?? Now that's a new low!
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by scramblur11 View Post
    TS, FYI, I got the ML-L3 from SLRR at Funan for $15 or $14...

    Basic remote with one button that all..
    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten View Post
    Original Nikon?? Now that's a new low!

    YES - CONFIRMED - ML-L3 for $14 only at SLRR

  6. #26
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by AnduTan View Post
    YES - CONFIRMED - ML-L3 for $14 only at SLRR
    Now... submit your findings to CS pricelist please...
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sembawang
    Posts
    1,479

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten View Post
    Original Nikon?? Now that's a new low!
    yupz original...haha...I find the stuff sold at SLRR got really good prices...

  8. #28
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by scramblur11 View Post
    yupz original...haha...I find the stuff sold at SLRR got really good prices...
    Not all bro, not all. But so far I've gotten two Nikkors from them...
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sembawang
    Posts
    1,479

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten View Post
    Not all bro, not all. But so far I've gotten two Nikkors from them...
    really ahz? so far the prices quote by them are quite good...but so far I only bought the remote and a original battery from them only...

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East side
    Posts
    3,704

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    You can still do long exposures with the ML-L3. Set your camera to bulb mode, and first press on the ML-L3 opens the shutter, second press closes it.

    If you use the ML-L3 indoors, you do not need to face the camera as usually the walls can bounce the IR signal.

    Quote Originally Posted by XzinXrinX View Post
    Hi, i actually bought a wireless one from NSC only to find that you have to be infront of the camera to fire it. Its quite hard to do long exposures.

    So what i did was to go back to NSC 3 days later and exchanged the wireless one for a wired one. With top up of course.. The gentleman manning the sales booth was very nice and helpful.

    Actually you dont need the wireless remote when you're standing in front of the camera as it has a built in timer.

    But end of the day, its a matter of preference...

  11. #31
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by scramblur11 View Post
    really ahz? so far the prices quote by them are quite good...but so far I only bought the remote and a original battery from them only...
    Oh, I do my homework when I shop for lenses... DSLR body I didn't buy from them, you guess why, okayz?
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  12. #32

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by kriegsketten View Post
    Oh, I do my homework when I shop for lenses... DSLR body I didn't buy from them, you guess why, okayz?
    Loh why ah?

  13. #33
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by Kopred View Post
    Loh why ah?
    Nothing to do with service or anything lah, like I've said I do my homework that's all... I'll buy when I'm comfortable with the price.
    Last edited by kriegsketten; 19th August 2010 at 05:31 PM.
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  14. #34
    Senior Member wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    3,268

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Okay, to balance out NNB's and XzinXrinX's post, I will say...

    I enjoy using the cheapo IR remote from Nikon. Then again, I am el cheapo, but so far, I haven't encountered anyone having problems with these el cheapo devices, and I will happily use mine until the battery gives and then I will buy another IR remote from Nikon again

    Not sure what's the problem it gives XzinXrinX with LE shots but I use mine happily for all my LE shots. Mainly because I don't have to hold down the shutter-release. Set on timer, it will autostop when time is up. Set on bulb mode, one click will open shutter, next click will close shutter.

    Oh. Got friend who called me before asking why the IR remote not working... coz he didn't change the shutter release mode. Don't let that happen to you.

    I love my Nikon IR remote!

  15. #35
    New Member kriegsketten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern Enclave
    Posts
    2,560

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by wildcat View Post
    Okay, to balance out NNB's and XzinXrinX's post, I will say...

    I enjoy using the cheapo IR remote from Nikon. Then again, I am el cheapo, but so far, I haven't encountered anyone having problems with these el cheapo devices, and I will happily use mine until the battery gives and then I will buy another IR remote from Nikon again

    Not sure what's the problem it gives XzinXrinX with LE shots but I use mine happily for all my LE shots. Mainly because I don't have to hold down the shutter-release. Set on timer, it will autostop when time is up. Set on bulb mode, one click will open shutter, next click will close shutter.

    Oh. Got friend who called me before asking why the IR remote not working... coz he didn't change the shutter release mode. Don't let that happen to you.

    I love my Nikon IR remote!
    You mean to say, rather than buying a brand new battery you prefer a new remote?? Now, what kind of El cheapo is that? No standard one! Just kidding bro.
    Myflickr | Zoom in for the KILL!

  16. #36

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Wow, the Original Nikon Remote Controller for D90 is cheap.

    I got 3rd party one for my D700 :
    http://www.artworkfoto.com/cable_remote.html

    However, it's was having intermittent problem after using it for a few months.

    Now using this :
    http://www.phottix.com/wireless-remo...-cleon-ii.html
    Can use as wire/wireless.

  17. #37

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    is phottix good option than the nikon one?

  18. #38
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Nikon Remote Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy1 View Post
    Wow, the Original Nikon Remote Controller for D90 is cheap.

    I got 3rd party one for my D700 :
    http://www.artworkfoto.com/cable_remote.html

    However, it's was having intermittent problem after using it for a few months.

    Now using this :
    http://www.phottix.com/wireless-remo...-cleon-ii.html
    Can use as wire/wireless.
    They are all made by the same people... just the company doing the branding is diferent.

    All the same...

    I have both. And they both work fine since the day I got them.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •