Thread: Isolated Jetty

Default Isolated Jetty

1.in what area is critique to be sought?

I need feedback on the composition and maybe post processing technique.
    I have composed the picture this way because I want to show the "no longer accessible jetty".

This picture was heavily cropped because i only have a 10-20 with me..

2.what one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?

I want viewers to feel its a pity that authorities have forbid the access to the jetty through the picture. This jetty @ Labrador Park used to be a hang out for fishing enthusiastic, nature lover and photographers.

3.under what circumstance is the picture taken?

I took this picture because I was sad to know that the jetty was no longer accessible by public.

Picture was taken around 1900hrs, over cast sky, low tide.

Thank you for your honest feedback.
    Last edited by chiangkxv; 15th August 2010 at 06:04 PM.

Default Re: Isolated Jetty

upz for a lazy sunday..

I am a noob but just share what I feel about the pic.

You are using ND filter to make the sea look smooth that's nice but I think overall the picture looked very pale and white. Maybe if you wait for the sun to just set see if the sky colour would be nicer.

It looked more like isolated sea as the Jetty doesn't seem to be the main subject (maybe taking it from another position to let the jetty take up more space in the frame would be nicer? But again it might be you cannot move upclose to the jetty.)

Horizontal looked alittle tilted to me (maybe that's me).

Again personally I prefer the jetty extending vertically OUT into the sea rather than horizontaly across the frame but again that might not be possible.

To highlight isolation maybe I would try to focus on the algae, rust, dirt and the lamp post of the jetty to highlight its age,etc but again maybe it's not possible with 10-22. Or maybe include something that shows "NO ENTRY" to bring out the idea of "forbidden to enter".