Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Newbies

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Singapore (Tiong Bahru
    Posts
    643

    Smile Newbies

    hi everybody... jus wanna to know is it possible to take very nice n clear pictures using a consumer camera with 3.2 megapixels ???

  2. #2
    Senior Member The_Cheat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,278

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Larren Chen
    hi everybody... jus wanna to know is it possible to take very nice n clear pictures using a consumer camera with 3.2 megapixels ???
    Why not?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default

    Possible, y not? Try to keep the iso below 200 though, or u'll probably have to clean up the image later on using neat image or helicon.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,741

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter
    Possible, y not? Try to keep the iso below 200 though, or u'll probably have to clean up the image later on using neat image or helicon.
    Actually, even at the lowest ISO, I've to clean it up using neat image.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Larren Chen
    hi everybody... jus wanna to know is it possible to take very nice n clear pictures using a consumer camera with 3.2 megapixels ???
    Its possible, just make sure you set the camera to lowest ISO, aperture at f5.6-f11, shutter at 1/125 and above, mount on a tripod or a solid platform, focus the subject correctly, take a deep breath before you press the trigger.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Larren Chen
    ...very nice n clear pictures...
    That's a subjective quality question. It really depends on how much are you able to tolerate image noise. Different cameras produce different amount of image noise and is pretty independent on the number of megapixels.

    For best effect, turn down the ISO and be prepared for more noise as your exposure time increases.

  7. #7

    Default

    remember to use tripod if you are talking about landscape. Weather also play an important part though.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Singapore (Tiong Bahru
    Posts
    643

    Smile

    Thanks for the advice...

    i m using a Casio Z3... gonna upgrade after NS so i will seek help from everyone in clubsnap when i need it...

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Larren Chen
    hi everybody... jus wanna to know is it possible to take very nice n clear pictures using a consumer camera with 3.2 megapixels ???
    definitely possible. i've used a 2 megapixel canon ixus 300 b4 and it had very low noise levels.
    you can buy better gear but you can't buy a better eye

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    The North
    Posts
    639

    Default

    yup, its definitely possible. And i think ultimately depends on what you use the picture for, and if ur printing, wat size you print to. Under lower light conditions, I use my 3.2mp a70 at iso200 and print at 4R, results are still pretty good. And you can use neat image to lower down the noise further if ur particular.

    As for web posting, u dun really need very high mp...cos most pple would eventually resize to something like 640x480 for posting. As for colour reproduction and saturation, most consumer cams now are pretty capable to producing good pictures, more of it depends on the environmental conditions which the picture is taken in. Can take a look at my gallery for some samples by a70 if you want.

  11. #11

    Default

    Don't worry about 3.2 megapixel image size. If you know your camera well, you can achieve the best quality out of it.

    See one of my A70 shots
    http://megaweb.clubsnap.org/a70/pano/pano3a.htm
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Larren Chen
    hi everybody... jus wanna to know is it possible to take very nice n clear pictures using a consumer camera with 3.2 megapixels ???
    Hey man,
    Looks like you already have your answers about noise and such for digital cameras. I am still very much a film user.

    But basically a good picture also consists of good composition and the story (or your POV) portrayed. IMO, I feel this is more important than anything else.

    Seen too many and countless examples of people with wonderful tools but cannot take a picture for nuts.

    Regards,
    -Michelle-

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    Its possible, just make sure you set the camera to lowest ISO, aperture at f5.6-f11, shutter at 1/125 and above, mount on a tripod or a solid platform, focus the subject correctly, take a deep breath before you press the trigger.
    take a deep breath, let out half a breath, hold your breath, half squeeze the trigger till you hear a 'tick'(no no, till in focus) then squeeze all the way



    hmmm, not much diff from M-16


  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by megaweb
    Don't worry about 3.2 megapixel image size. If you know your camera well, you can achieve the best quality out of it.

    See one of my A70 shots
    http://megaweb.clubsnap.org/a70/pano/pano3a.htm
    That was an outstanding panoramic shot. Which software did you use to stitch?

    Only blemish were obvious traces of your cut and paste PS job

  15. #15

    Default

    no comment from Larren Chen




    Quote Originally Posted by goering
    That was an outstanding panoramic shot. Which software did you use to stitch?

    Only blemish were obvious traces of your cut and paste PS job
    Thanks I use the panorama factory software.
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  16. #16

    Default

    megaweb,

    That's an outstanding pano shot!

    I particularly like the 'painterly' quality of the background buildings. Possible to share workflow?



    Francis



    Quote Originally Posted by megaweb




    Thanks I use the panorama factory software.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Singapore (Tiong Bahru
    Posts
    643

    Default

    ermmm... i m not the one using the stich thing... is megaweb... hehe

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Singapore (Tiong Bahru
    Posts
    643

    Smile

    to megaweb...

    well i think after exploring my camera fully, found out the modes n i m able to take clear pics... but the angle may not be that good...
    need some advice on some of the pics... will post them asap...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •