Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: Using of old lenses

  1. #1

    Default Using of old lenses

    Hi Guys/Girls, am a newbie here so please bear with my newbie questions.

    So anyway, I was wondering if it is possible to use my dad's old Tamron lenses which was for his Nikon SLR(Not sure what model if I'm not wrong it was a F series) and mount it on my Canon 500D, as he has a few lenses and I'm kinda budgeting right now for more camera accessories and all. and was just wondering if it's possible to mount it on my camera? P.S am asking this coz the lens and camera are deep DEEP in the Storage room, and if I know I am not able to mount it on, I wouldn't want to waste my time digging for it.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Adaptall 2 lenses can be mounted.

    Mu guess is: just use the F-mount, and adapt it to a F > EOS mount.

    It might not be the best, tolerance wise, but you do have your dad's old tamron lenses to play with.

    Some of these are known to be quite good 'classic' manual focus lenses.

    CHEERS!

    DM
    Last edited by Dream Merchant; 5th August 2010 at 07:44 PM.

  3. #3
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    7,061

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by JVlarcus View Post
    Hi Guys/Girls, am a newbie here so please bear with my newbie questions.

    So anyway, I was wondering if it is possible to use my dad's old Tamron lenses which was for his Nikon SLR(Not sure what model if I'm not wrong it was a F series) and mount it on my Canon 500D, as he has a few lenses and I'm kinda budgeting right now for more camera accessories and all. and was just wondering if it's possible to mount it on my camera? P.S am asking this coz the lens and camera are deep DEEP in the Storage room, and if I know I am not able to mount it on, I wouldn't want to waste my time digging for it.
    And you are sure that it dosen't have fungus?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by Dream Merchant View Post
    Adaptall 2 lenses can be mounted.

    Mu guess is: just use the F-mount, and adapt it to a F > EOS mount.

    It might not be the best, tolerance wise, but you do have your dad's old tamron lenses to play with.

    Some of these are known to be quite good 'classic' manual focus lenses.

    CHEERS!

    DM
    Oh cool! Are these adapters available in most/all camera shops? Thanks for the advice!

  5. #5

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by cleonbus View Post
    And you are sure that it dosen't have fungus?
    Hmm...From what my dad has told me, he kept them in boxes with silicons, He does take good care of his things, and I believe there isn't? Prayerfully not

  6. #6
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by cleonbus View Post
    And you are sure that it dosen't have fungus?
    alamak if have than u can use sponge bob to help ts to clean mah. Hahaha
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Shunfu Road, Singapore
    Posts
    2,465

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by JVlarcus View Post
    Oh cool! Are these adapters available in most/all camera shops? Thanks for the advice!
    Niko F to EOS adapters are available at Tagotech, mass sales. Get one with focus confirmation for S$ 65.00. The adapted lens will be totally manual, both aperture and focusing.
    Home is where the heart is.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by denniskee View Post
    alamak if have than u can use sponge bob to help ts to clean mah. Hahaha

  9. #9

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by Anthony Lee View Post
    Niko F to EOS adapters are available at Tagotech, mass sales. Get one with focus confirmation for S$ 65.00. The adapted lens will be totally manual, both aperture and focusing.
    Sorry but what is focus confirmation?

    Am checking the store out now...Thanks!

  10. #10

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by JVlarcus View Post
    Sorry but what is focus confirmation?

    Am checking the store out now...Thanks!
    focus confirmation is when you manually focus the subject that is on the selective focus point, the focus point will light up, telling you that it is in focus (just like when you af with your canon lenses)

  11. #11

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by wdEvA View Post
    focus confirmation is when you manually focus the subject that is on the selective focus point, the focus point will light up, telling you that it is in focus (just like when you af with your canon lenses)
    Oh I see...Thanks for clearing the doubt!

  12. #12

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by JVlarcus View Post
    Oh I see...Thanks for clearing the doubt!
    if you are confident with your mf, maybe you can skip the chip, as accuracy varies from different chips

  13. #13
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    7,061

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by denniskee View Post
    alamak if have than u can use sponge bob to help ts to clean mah. Hahaha
    Use sponge to clean lens?

    Get 3M ones lah

  14. #14
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,394

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by JVlarcus View Post
    Sorry but what is focus confirmation?
    Focus confirmation is a function of your camera. It's the green dot in your viewfinder and the beep once your auto focus has locked on subject. (See manual for further details.) If a Canon camera cannot detect an EF lens it will switch to 'No EF lens found' mode and the focus sensors in the body won't work. To overcome this, there are adapters in market with a small chip mimicking the presence of EF lens. This way the camera 'assumes' that there is an EF lens mounted but used in manual focus mode. As result, the AF sensors work and once the object is in focus the confirmation will be given.
    EOS

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Jalan Poonpipi
    Posts
    758

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by JVlarcus View Post
    Hi Guys/Girls, am a newbie here so please bear with my newbie questions.

    So anyway, I was wondering if it is possible to use my dad's old Tamron lenses which was for his Nikon SLR(Not sure what model if I'm not wrong it was a F series) and mount it on my Canon 500D, as he has a few lenses and I'm kinda budgeting right now for more camera accessories and all. and was just wondering if it's possible to mount it on my camera? P.S am asking this coz the lens and camera are deep DEEP in the Storage room, and if I know I am not able to mount it on, I wouldn't want to waste my time digging for it.
    Stuff kept deep deep in the storeroom..... That means not touch for more than a year or like to be several years....

    Using silica gel? Lens + cam + silica gel all put inside some biscuit tin? Hermetically sealed? Well, the silica gel could last at most 3mths or so, depending on how well sealed, the container.

    But why go thru the trouble of getting converter? Might be better to switch to Nikon F mount.
    Do not be afraid [of ghost and bullies] Shoot them......

  16. #16
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by Anthony Lee View Post
    Niko F to EOS adapters are available at Tagotech, mass sales. Get one with focus confirmation for S$ 65.00. The adapted lens will be totally manual, both aperture and focusing.
    I thot as long as the lens can mount, Nikon cam can give focus confirm already....
    is there a so-called focus confirm adapter? I nv had one for my manual lens and still find the green dot...

    ooh my bad, canon has it(didn't see TS uses canon)...different flange to sensor distance..
    Last edited by ovaltinemilo; 6th August 2010 at 02:54 PM.
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by wdEvA View Post
    if you are confident with your mf, maybe you can skip the chip, as accuracy varies from different chips
    Haha I'm pretty confident with my mf, but sometimes when taking fast shots, I believe many other photographers like myself, would want a clearer picture? so what's the price difference if it comes with/without a chip(Let's say the lowest/best ideal chip?)?

  18. #18

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Focus confirmation is a function of your camera. It's the green dot in your viewfinder and the beep once your auto focus has locked on subject. (See manual for further details.) If a Canon camera cannot detect an EF lens it will switch to 'No EF lens found' mode and the focus sensors in the body won't work. To overcome this, there are adapters in market with a small chip mimicking the presence of EF lens. This way the camera 'assumes' that there is an EF lens mounted but used in manual focus mode. As result, the AF sensors work and once the object is in focus the confirmation will be given.

    Sorry a little confused again I thought what wdEvA meant for the chip was for AF/MF? haha So is there any mount that would give me some AF?

  19. #19

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by La Fontaine View Post
    Stuff kept deep deep in the storeroom..... That means not touch for more than a year or like to be several years....

    Using silica gel? Lens + cam + silica gel all put inside some biscuit tin? Hermetically sealed? Well, the silica gel could last at most 3mths or so, depending on how well sealed, the container.

    But why go thru the trouble of getting converter? Might be better to switch to Nikon F mount.
    Oh crap...It's been in there for probably 10 years?

    Yeap sorry using silica gel

    But I'm using a Canon, the Nikon F mount would not have the same catch?

    haha so sorry for all the newbie question

  20. #20

    Default Re: Using of old lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by JVlarcus View Post
    Sorry a little confused again I thought what wdEvA meant for the chip was for AF/MF? haha So is there any mount that would give me some AF?
    nope, the chips will only give u AF confirmation. not AF function.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •