Thread: Tripod recommendation for gripped Canon 550D with 15-85mm IS USM

Default Tripod recommendation for gripped Canon 550D with 15-85mm IS USM

Hi All,

A newbie here who recently bought a 550D for my coming honeymoon in Europe. Just like to ask for opinions regarding tripod.

I am planning to bring my gripped 550D with a 15-85mm IS USM lens on it for my trip. I think the total weight will be around 1+ kg. I am also thinking of purchasing either a Canon 430 Ex II or Nissin flash to go with it.

Can fellow ClubSnappers please do recommend me a good tripod able to take the total weight (together with flash) and yet is light enough for me to lug around on my trip? Also, can someone please educate me about the ballhead? Shouldn't the tripod come together with the ballhead? What is the advantage of buying separately or rather, why separate the 2???

Thank you all so much in advanced!!

FFA

Default Re: Tripod recommendation for gripped Canon 550D with 15-85mm IS USM

you may want to state your budget for the tripod.

Carbon Fibre ones are light and hence better for travelling, but will set you back by between 300-1000++

Since you are using a 550D, on your honeymoon, i would suggest less is more. Skip the grip, just bring the body, your 15-85, and perhaps a light 50mm lens for portraits of your wife. Somehow lugging a heavy tripod and camera bag doesn't appeal to me as a good idea on honeymoon.
    A7R3|V12|V15|FE28|MS17|MS35|MS50|50lux|50C|50Artis an|FD85L|FE85|90 cron|
    Σ24|35L|Σ50|135L|70-200G2

check Sirui brand carbon fibre one around 300SGD include the ballhead in TK photo..
    Canon Kiss X4 | 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS II Kit lens | 50mm f1.8

a good, reasonably priced tripod wld be the Slik Sprint Pro, more then enough for the 550D and lens you are intending to use. This comes with its own standard ball head.