Thread: Which lens to use?

Default Which lens to use?

Hi,

I know it is kind of early to ask... but I am planning to shoot the year end marathon. I have the following lens which I am hoping to use,

1) 70-200mm f4L IS
    2) 300mm non IS

Since both of them are 'L' lens, I am expecting that they are almost of the same sharpness (maybe the 300mm is a tact sharper). I am wondering which lens should I use? I am new to sports photography so I hope to have some advice.

Also, I am wondering if anyone could recommend a combination of either of the abovementioned lens with a 1.4x TC?

Thanks in advance.
    I am not a photographer, just someone who happened to have a couple of cameras.
    My lousy shots

Default Re: Which lens to use?

The Canon EF 100-400mm lens is Canon's premium telephoto zoom lens. It competes with the EF 300mm prime lenses as a telephoto and with the EF 70-200mm as a wide range telephoto zoom.

The 100-400mm Lens has an excellent focal length range that includes the longest focal length found in a Canon zoom lens - 400mm.

This long focal length and focal length range combine with very good image and build quality to make the 100-400 one of the most popular serious wildlife and sports lenses Canon sells.
    雅各士 - ジェイコブ
    EOS
    5D3 + Luxury Lenses|Hope To Make Someone Happy By Showing My Pictures|

Thanks. But currently that is abit out of my budget and I do not wish to increase my lens collection.
    My lousy shots

i would choose the 70-200 cos i can use for nearer shots, the 300mm seems a tad restrictive to me. However, if you are shooting from a distance away the 300mm would be better

for an event like that, a zoom lens will be more versatile. you may not time time to adjust your standing position. you might miss a "winning shot" by the time you move closer or further from the subject

Quote Originally Posted by rhino123 View Post
    Hi,