Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: upscaling camera

  1. #1

    Default upscaling camera

    hi, recently i saw an ad in the BnS section that says camera upgradeable to 10MP (from ori. 5.5MP)

    how is it done? can it be done for any cam?
    if yes, will it affect the electronics in any way negative? TIA!

    cheers!
    - troubled undergrad -
    Olympus XA/Canon QL17 GIII flickr

  2. #2
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: upscaling camera

    Quote Originally Posted by bayusuputra View Post
    hi, recently i saw an ad in the BnS section that says camera upgradeable to 10MP (from ori. 5.5MP)

    how is it done? can it be done for any cam?
    if yes, will it affect the electronics in any way negative? TIA!

    cheers!
    I am interested to find out too.
    Post the link to that ad here.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Anson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    ansonchew.com
    Posts
    8,209

    Default Re: upscaling camera

    Really?? Never heard of it before...

  4. #4
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: upscaling camera

    Quote Originally Posted by Anson View Post
    Really?? Never heard of it before...
    Actually now that i think of it, there is.

    Medium format cameras with digital backs. You can change the digital back to a high MP one. But not 10MP la. Nowadays, digital backs for MF is around 60MP (good ones la).

  5. #5
    Senior Member Anson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    ansonchew.com
    Posts
    8,209

    Default Re: upscaling camera

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Actually now that i think of it, there is.

    Medium format cameras with digital backs. You can change the digital back to a high MP one. But not 10MP la. Nowadays, digital backs for MF is around 60MP (good ones la).

    Ic... and I thought it's dslr... I am not an expert in MF... so can't comment much.

  6. #6
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: upscaling camera

    Quote Originally Posted by Anson View Post
    Ic... and I thought it's dslr... I am not an expert in MF... so can't comment much.
    These are examples of MF digital backs.

    http://www.shotaddict.com/wordpress/...gital-back.jpg

    http://asia.cnet.com/i/r/2008/crave/...haseone300.jpg

    http://www.luminous-landscape.com/im...oduct_Shot.jpg

  7. #7

    Default Re: upscaling camera

    hi, this is the ad that i was talking about...

    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=737553

    or maybe i was the one who misunderstood the ad?
    sorry, newbie here...

    but if it true, that is so awesome, isn't it?
    - troubled undergrad -
    Olympus XA/Canon QL17 GIII flickr

  8. #8
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,388

    Default Re: upscaling camera

    Seems to be based on the sensor design and some software interpolation. Google helps always
    DPReview: http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond1x/default.asp
    Mac Rumours Forum: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=16754
    Last edited by Octarine; 1st August 2010 at 02:11 PM.
    EOS

  9. #9
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: upscaling camera

    It is using interpolation to get a 10MP picture.

    It is the same with the old Fuji S7000 as well as the Fuji S2 pro I had. It really a 6MP sensor but with 2 diodes for each pixel, one to capture the highlights, one to capture the lowlights. But with interpolation, it is capable of producing an image the size of a 12MP image. It is not the same as having a 12MP sensor. But they were quite good cameras and I have produced very good pictures with both cameras back then.

    Here is the review for the old Fuji S2 pro.
    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujis2pro/

    Here is the review for the old Fuji S7000.
    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujifilms7000/
    Last edited by daredevil123; 1st August 2010 at 02:20 PM.

  10. #10

    Default Re: upscaling camera

    after reading some articles in google, i am still a little confused about the interpolating concept.. is the concept like digital zooming? or rather the pixels adjust to the pixels surround them to produce a larger count of pixels? or am i getting it all wrong?

    if the concept of pixels trying to adjust to surrounding pixels correct, will there be significant loss of image quality? cus what i read is that it is negligible (i.e. u can't really tell)


    sorry for asking a lot of questions, but this is something really new to me and i am very curious about it.. TIA
    - troubled undergrad -
    Olympus XA/Canon QL17 GIII flickr

  11. #11
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: upscaling camera

    Quote Originally Posted by bayusuputra View Post
    after reading some articles in google, i am still a little confused about the interpolating concept.. is the concept like digital zooming? or rather the pixels adjust to the pixels surround them to produce a larger count of pixels? or am i getting it all wrong?

    if the concept of pixels trying to adjust to surrounding pixels correct, will there be significant loss of image quality? cus what i read is that it is negligible (i.e. u can't really tell)


    sorry for asking a lot of questions, but this is something really new to me and i am very curious about it.. TIA
    If you are interpolating too much, of course there is a significant loss of IQ. If you are interpolating to double the MP count, 1 pixel to 2 pixel, it is quite doable. There is definitely some loss of IQ but just not visible to the naked eye.

    This is also the technique software like Genuine Fractals use, to blow pictures up bigger. Check out http://www.ononesoftware.com/detail.php?prodLine_id=7
    Last edited by daredevil123; 1st August 2010 at 11:22 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •